Cheri Speak

Are you listening?

Out of Gas

sad-gas-can

Image Source: macmcrae.com

If I told you to imagine the coming scenario, you probably couldn’t. It’s one of those things that you had to be there to believe it. You know what I mean. It’s about one of those times where everything that could go wrong, went wrong?

Before I had my son — when my two daughters were very small I was a stay-at-home mom. I babysat two other little girls that were the same age as my two. Each day I would have two 2-year-olds and two 3-year-olds. They got along well, the hard part was timing naps. There was always at least one who had to be contrary, which was the case the day of the gas can.

My youngest fell asleep about 40 minutes before the others. By time I got the others down in another room I came out to discover my front door open. I panicked. It never occurred to me that someone may have come in. I was sure it was the other way around — so much so that I didn’t waste any time checking the other bedroom and instead dashed outside praying my  2-year-old hadn’t gotten out of the fence.

We had a small yard. I saw her immediately and my heart began to pound. She was standing off to the side holding a big red plastic gas can. I ran to her and picked her up asking over and over if she drank it. her response was to wave her mouth with her hand repeating the words,

“Ish hot mommy ish hot. Hot…hot…mommeeeee…hot””

I didn’t know what to do. I didn’t have a house phone and this was long before cell phones. I didn’t know if I could give her water to rinse her mouth out or what.

I ran back into the house to make sure the other three were still asleep. They were.

We lived in a “back house’ meaning there was a “front house” on the property. It belonged to my landlords. I carried my daughter to their back door. She was still saying,

“Ish hot mommy ish hot. Hot…hot…mommeeeee…hot”

I knocked on the landlords door. While I was standing there I noticed a strange car in the drive-way, but no one answered the door.

“Shit!” <– that was me.

I ran back through my yard and out the back gate into the alley. I had another neighbor. I’d never spoken to them, they were druggie types with a lot of junk and traffic throughout their yard. I didn’t care. My daughter was still fanning her mouth and she looked sleepy. I was scared.

I got to their gate, but their pit-bulls were loose and barking like crazy. I was too afraid to open the gate let alone try to walk through it. I yelled for the people. I saw someone peek out from behind a curtain. I yelled louder say it was an “emergency” to “please help me“.

Finally the front door opened. An oily headed guy stood there gruffly asking what I wanted. I explained my baby drank gasoline and that I needed to call poison control or an ambulance. I explained I had three more toddlers asleep in the house. I asked if he could bring the phone out so I could keep an eye on my yard in case the kids woke-up and wandered out. He said, “no“. I asked if he would keep his eye on the yard while I came in and used the phone, again he said, “no” this time adding he “didn’t want to be responsible“.

“Are you kidding me? What if she dies?” I screamed back before I jogged away with my kid.

I jogged around the front of the block and was again at my landlords. I noticed the strange car again. I went to the front door this time and pounded on it hard. Finally the door opened. A woman I had never seen or met slowly opened the door. She was clutching her chest and said,

“Oh thank goodness you’re here. Call 911! I think I’m having a heart attack!”

I went inside and grabbed the phone dialing 911. The operator answered and asked me to state my emergency and I blurted out,

“um well I have two!!!”

Needless to say both ended up being OK. When it was all over I completely lost it. I was great while it was going on, but after. No ma’am.

I did find out that the woman having a heart attack was my landlords Mother visiting from out of town. Fortunately my other daughter and the two other little girls I was watching slept through the entire thing.

  1. Ilya Fostiy. Memory | Philosophy & Photography
  2. The Undoing of Un Fab I An | In Harmony
  3. Daily Post: Comedy of Errors | tel-uh-vizh-uh-ner-ee
  4. My Thoughts on Personal Disasters | Never Stationary
  5. Daily Prompt: Comedy of Errors: Make Your Own Luck! | A YoungEmt’s Blog
  6. A Comedy of “Goofy” Errors | steph’s scribe
  7. NaNo Fragment-Never Fails | Tommia’s Tablet
  8. Murphy picked on me just the other day… | Hope* the happy hugger
  9. Sod Off, Sod | The Daily Dilly Dally
  10. Nihilism: nothing is wrong, nothing is right | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  11. some people have rules, Murphy has a law | thematticuskingdom
  12. I Didn’t Make Parole | The Jittery Goat
  13. Comedy of Errors | The Nameless One
  14. Daily Prompt: Comedy of Errors (and bonus assignment!) 28th Febuary 2013 | ittikorn1994
  15. Daily Prompt: Murphy is My Co-Pilot | One Starving Activist
  16. Comedy of Errors: Locked in With the CHICKENS | motherofnine9
  17. Daily Prompt: Comedy of Errors | Toddling towards entropy…under 24 hours with G$ | don of all trades
  18. Daily Prompt: Comedy of Errors « Mama Bear Musings
  19. The aptly named Murphy | polysyllabic profundities
  20. The little things | Spunky Wayfarer
  21. Daily Prompt: Comedy of Errors | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  22. Daily Prompt: Comedy of Errors (and bonus assignment!) | The Blogging Path
  23. The Worst is Over, Maybe | Beyond Beauty Tips
  24. Camping is not for me | Angel Frouk
  25. Home Is Your Territory | Chasing The Bubble

19 comments on “Out of Gas

  1. Jueseppi B.
    February 27, 2013

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™.

    Like

    • CheriSpeak
      February 27, 2013

      LOL thank you :)

      Like

      • Jueseppi B.
        February 27, 2013

        My pleasure, hope you had a good weekend.

        Like

  2. djmatticus
    February 27, 2013

    Oh my gosh!! What an “adventure!”

    Like

  3. Pingback: I Didn’t Make Parole | The Jittery Goat

  4. slepsnor
    February 27, 2013

    Wow. That’s definitely a story that you had to be there for. Glad everyone was okay in the end.

    Like

  5. Corner of Confessions
    February 27, 2013

    Oh my! I’m so glad everyone was alright!

    Like

  6. Pingback: Ten Years of Shock and Awe | Cheri Speak

  7. Pingback: The notepad | Paul Scribbles

  8. georgefloreswrite
    February 27, 2013

    What a nightmare! Sorry to judge, but your messy neighbor was a total turd. Glad everyone turned out fine!

    Like

  9. beefybooyawn
    February 27, 2013

    Thanks for the tag back! Crazy story!

    Like

  10. diannegray
    February 27, 2013

    Wow – what an amazing story. I’m glad everyone was okay! I know what you mean when you say you were good during the whole thing but ‘lost it’ when it was over because I’ve done that…

    Your greasy headed neighbour was a complete ratbag!

    Like

    • CheriSpeak
      February 27, 2013

      Thank you Di. Yes he was a jerk. It was a crazy afternoon for sure!

      Like

  11. VictoriaJoDean
    February 28, 2013

    Wild story and you know what they say, truth is stranger than fiction. Just have four toddlers in the house at the same time was brave, much less the scare of your little one and the gasoline. Thank God it all ended well. Isn’t it providential that you pounded on the door and so were able to help the woman get help who thought she was having a heart attack?

    Like

    • CheriSpeak
      February 28, 2013

      I know huh? It was crazy and yes fate put me where needed. ;)

      Like

  12. Pingback: Comedy of Errors… When does it stop being funny? | Travel Making Kai :)

  13. Kozo
    March 1, 2013

    Cheri,
    Glad everything turned out ok. In my younger days, I would have taken the gas can and molotov cocktailed it into your neighbor’s yard. Maybe set his greasy hair on fire. But I’m all about peace now, so I forgive him. {{{Hugs}}} Kozo

    Like

  14. Pingback: Daily Prompt – A Comedy of Errors – Flash Fiction / Short Story – “A Successful Succession of Snafus” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Now it's my turn to listen...

IT’S FREE!

You do not need to be a WordPress member to subscribe. Just enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Thank you very much for following! :)

Join 1,056 other followers

Tweet @CheriSpeak

RSS Glenn Greenwald on The Intercept

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Sign Up Today!

boot-camps-for-bloggers

YOU ARE THE MEDIA!

BE THE MEDIA | Buy The Book!
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,056 other followers

