Cheri Speak

Are you listening?

Allegiance Breeds Bias

indoctrination-Pledge-of-Allegiance

Image Source: kdrv.com

From childhood we are raised to take the “Pledge of Allegiance” in America, idolizing the fabric of a flag and the trodden ground on which we stand. It’s an indoctrination; all of course, in the name of God.

Other countries have their own “Pledges” and ceremonies surrounding them, some much more propagandizing than others, but regardless, the idea behind these pledges is a declaration of unbending loyalty.

I say allegiance of that sort is exactly what perpetuates wars, whether on the playground or in the real world of foreign policy and today’s word is riddled with self-professed “Patriots”, many of which have hateful and biased practices…of course also, all in the name of God.

My allegiance is to humanity and this place we call earth.  Remember, “Peace” takes YOU too.

b4peace-takes-you-cheri-speak

 

  1. Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance | Under the Monkey Tree
  2. Wishing my home country Malaysia, Selamat Merdeka | littlegirlstory
  3. Daily Prompt: Country | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  4. Canada Sucks and I Don’t Want to Leave : I Pledge Allegience | thanks for letting me autograph your cat
  5. Duncan the Sushi Roll #5 | Neva Samaki
  6. No country should exist | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  7. Daily Prompt: Pledge Allegiance | Motherhood and Beyond
  8. Daily Prompt: Country – What Country Means to Me | USS Hornet (CV-12)-A Father’s Untold War Story
  9. Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance | The Lint In My Pocket
  10. Pledge Allegiance | Flowers and Breezes
  11. Pledge | A Good One
  12. Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance « Mama Bear Musings
  13. There Are Better Things Than Patriotism | The Jittery Goat
  14. Canadian post card | DCMontreal
  15. Daily Prompt : Being Indonesian? I am deadly Proud of It! | bambangpriantono
  16. 158. Questionable Allegiance | kevindeisher
  17. Country | Rebecca Barray
  18. Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegience | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  19. Patriotism: Yes or No? | pork juice & paper towels
  20. Patriotism | A mom’s blog
  21. Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance | I really just pretend to know stuff
  22. Daily Prompt: Country – Our America by Shannon Holloway | IF I ONLY HAD A TIME MACHINE
  23. Country | The Nameless One
  24. A small stitch from the fabric of Canada | Patchwork Ponderings
  25. We agree to celebrate our life… | Vampire Maman
  26. Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance | Likeness Of Something
  27. Two countries | Life is great
  28. #Patriotism in #Murica | floatingsheep
  29. RPMAS
  30. Daily Writing Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance | Charles Ray’s Ramblings
  31. Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance « Vicariously Poetic
  32. Daily Prompt: To pledge allegiance and mean it | SERENDIPITY
  33. The Death Of National Pride | Liars, Hypocrites & The Development of Human Emotion
  34. My Country……(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  35. Of thee i sing | contrailsonmyheart
  36. Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance | Nature Wisdom Journey
  37. Daily Prompt; I Pledge Allegiance | terry1954
  38. My top five things about being British… | My Top Fives…
  39. Editorial: Reflections of loyalty on a holiday weekend | The not really news blog
  40. DP Poem: “Pledge Allegiance”… One Nation Under God!!! | The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel
  41. Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance | The Daily Post | The Blogging Path
  42. Republicans are more patriotic than democrats | The Flavored Word
  43. Britain Sucks – But I’m Still Proud Of It |Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance | Quinn Harkness
  44. the patriotic call of the mightily dollar | The Seminary of Praying Mantis
  45. Letter to My Soldier | anniethinksabout
  46. I’m Canadian Eh! | Along Life’s Road
  47. Crazy for the Red, White, and Blue | A Day in the Life
  48. Daily Prompt: I Pledge [Corporate] Allegiance | My Atheist Blog
  49. Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance all My Life to the Magic Colours, Red, White and Blue | Phoenix Flights
  50. “I Pledge Allegiance” | Relax
  51. England, My England | Life & Times
  52. Daily Prompt: I pledge Allegiance ~ To Know the Meaning | For the Love of Images

8 comments on “Allegiance Breeds Bias

  1. For the Love of Images
    August 31, 2013

    Initially, it meant freedom for all peoples. It is what this country is supposed to be and the ideology it was built on. In that respect, I am a patriot. I believe in what this country is supposed to stand for…freedom of religion. A lot of us have lost sight of that fact and believe it, instead, to mean over and above all else ‘Our Country’.

    That is not the position I take. I’m a very peaceful person. I try to keep myself in peaceful environments at all times and that includes evading arguments that seem to be presented for no other reason than to create division, but in the spirit of the holiday, and in the spirit of the initial vision of the first leaders of this country, I wrote in response to a daily prompt and got caught up in a celebration during a time when they still believed in what this country represents, not where it may appear to be going.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Two countries | Life is great

  3. Pingback: Lest We Forget – Sydney, Australia | alternative.reality

  4. VictoriaJoDean
    August 31, 2013

    That Pledge of Allegiance is a reminder of the lives lost so that we could build a country free of taxation and regulation from a foreign shore as well as oppression against the expression of religion. A reminder that it takes blood, sweat and tears to maintain that freedom. A reminder that it takes the hard work of all of us, regardless of our religious affiliation or ancestral origin to keep this country strong and free for all differing opinions. A reminder of our common goal to respect the life of each of our citizens. A reminder that when the nation was created and the pledge designed, most citizens believed it was by God’s help we achieved our free status.

    Our country is going through the seismic shift from a primarily Judeo-Christian basis to a system of belief that rejects religious thought and beliefs and centers on humans, their value and worth separate from any acknowledgement of a Creator. Any effort to make such a change will generate strong feelings from both sides. So is it surprising that the very phrase, “indivisible, under God” will bring strong reactions?

    An idolization? Indoctrination? Not to my mind, but then, I’m one of those sees the flag as a symbol, not as an item of worship i itself.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Am I really very patriotic? | Rob's Surf Report

  6. Pingback: Patriotism | A mom's blog

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegience | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  8. Pingback: Two patriots | Natasha's Memory Garden

Now it's my turn to listen...

IT’S FREE!

You do not need to be a WordPress member to subscribe. Just enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Thank you very much for following! :)

Join 1,051 other followers

Tweet @CheriSpeak

RSS Glenn Greenwald on The Intercept

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Sign Up Today!

boot-camps-for-bloggers

YOU ARE THE MEDIA!

BE THE MEDIA | Buy The Book!
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,051 other followers

