Cheri Speak

Are you listening?

Playing With Photoshop

I make a lot of images and other types of graphics — including Memes, for myself and for clients. What most people don’t know is that I make them all in Word documents.

Laugh, it’s funny. I know, but hey, it works for me.

Bwahahahaha

I never had an image program outside of the general “paint” program that comes on most computers and when I started designing newsletters for clients I found Word worked beautifully and I could make cool graphics for headers etc. Although I refined my methods over the years, I continued to use Word.

When I had the opportunity to get Photoshop and a couple of other graphic programs, I turned them down, or got them and never used them.

I was intimidated by them.

Boo!

Anyhow, I opened Photoshop a few weeks ago because I needed to re-size something to a very precise file size and the only way I knew how was with Photoshop. In fact, that was the only thing I knew how to do with it at all and even that isn’t yet an exact science.

Yesterday I opened the program again because I just wanted to play without a purpose — which by the way is what I think my road-block in using it has been. I felt like I haaaaaad to, yanno?

To me, “art” was something someone created with a camera, a pencil or some paint…you know what I mean! What I didn’t realize was that color tweeks, layers and other options can do amazing things!

This time, I just goofed around with a couple of my own photographs and played with styles, etc. It was fun and I came out with a couple of killer images. At least I think so!

cheri-roberts-poster-art-photoshop

Image Source: Cheri M. Roberts

cheri-roberts-eyes-poster-art-photoshop

Image Source: Cheri M. Roberts

neon-bra-cheri-roberts-photoshop

Image Source: Cheri M. Roberts

shades-of-grey-cheri-roberts

Image Source: Cheri M. Roberts

Now it's my turn to listen...

Information

This entry was posted on January 16, 2014 by in Art, Character, Cheri Speak Blog, Creativity, Graphics, Images, Photography, Photoshop and tagged , , , , , .

rAnDoMnEsS

get-random-post

Get the Cheri Speak Badge

cheri-speak-badge

IT’S FREE!

You do not need to be a WordPress member to subscribe. Just enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Thank you very much for following! :)

Join 949 other followers

Tweet @CheriSpeak

Connect With Me

Cheri Roberts

Published Freelance Writer

Non-Fiction, Technical, Creative, Marketing, Copy, and Conetnt.

RSS Glenn Greenwald on The Intercept

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Sign Up Today!

boot-camps-for-bloggers

YOU ARE THE MEDIA!

BE THE MEDIA | Buy The Book!

Make it stop…

"We need to create the desire to know within the minds of the populous. Because, when they know, they will no longer be able to remain idle, nor silent". ~ Cheri Roberts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 949 other followers

