Cheri Speak

Are you listening?

The 3 Wishes WordPress Can Grant Me

3-wishes-3-stars

It’s a good thing I only get three wishes in today’s WordPress Daily Prompt which caught my eye simply because it mentioned stars. If you hadn’t noticed, I have a bit of an obsession with stars…well, at least, I do when they come in threes.

If I had unlimited wishes it would be a real mess because I have a lot of them and only God — not WordPress, really has the power to grant those…you know, things like; an end to disease, poverty and war?

Instead…

Logic dictates that my wishes should be related to WordPress itself.

Hey, I figure if they are granting wishes I may as well…

A. Better my odds that my wishes will be seen
B. Make it easy [and possible] for my wishes to be granted

It makes perfect sense to me, just go with it!

The 3 Wishes WordPress Can Grant Me

3-stars-1-wish-wordpressA Free Upgrade of My Choice!

Now, I am not saying what it should be, but getting any perk for free or for simply being such a faithful blogger would be really nice, dontchya think?

I have had this blog, Cheri Speak, for almost 2-years after-all and I teach BootCampsForBloggers. I promote and use the WordPress platform exclusively, helping to create new bloggers every week!

It would be great if I could pick 1 free upgrade from several options made available.

Just sayin’.

Many bloggers and even WordPress often talk about the benefits of giving away something away for free.

Right?

I have received several cool “Perks” from Klout in much less time and part of my Klout score is based on my following here or the buzz [traffic] created by feeding my blog posts into all of my social media channels.

Keep in mind, the traffic I create on Cheri Speak (or any of my other blogs) is WordPress traffic too!

3-stars-2-wish-wordpressA Groovy Job Offer!

I would love to do what Cheri L., Krista, Elizabeth, Michelle W. and the other WordPress blog staff do.

I want in, so I wish it!

If WordPress were a lamp, I’d be rubbing it pretty hard and fast right now.

Dang, that sounded naughty! 

Anyway, the point is, I would love to work for WordPress in some capacity. I love the platform. There simply is no other like it and certainly none better.

As I mentioned, when I turn people on to blogging — whether for personal or business purposes, I always turn them on to WordPress first. I may mention there are other platforms they can use, but when I say I use WP, they stick with me… and it.

With over 152 million blogs out there — over half of which are WordPress blogs, I think they could use another staff member and set of eyes.

Pick me, please?

3-stars-3-wish-wordpressI Want to be Freshly What?

I wish for a much better understanding of Freshly Pressed and what it takes to be seen, let alone “Pressed”.

I know I am not the only one who doesn’t quite, “get it” and I for one get a little bugged out when I see the same people repeatedly “Pressed”. It isn’t that their stuff isn’t any good, most (some) of it is, but often times it seems the more irrelevant/snarky/sarcastic/add your own off-adjective, a post is…the more chance it has of being “Pressed” versus the more heavily researched and annotated pieces or those that are generally helpful to other people or bloggers.

When I first started this blog, I really strived to be Freshly Pressed, it seemed like all of the “cool kids” were being “Pressed”, so why not me? I’m a writer, a published one at that. I’m a great writer too. I write with my readers and SEO in mind. I even format well, keeping my site and its pages visually appealing, etc. etc.etc.

Then after a while, I realized there was a relatively small fishbowl and it seemed to be filled with those who participated in lots of WP “this and thats” that were frequently chosen for Friday’s coveted real estate.

So, I did like any other post happy whore writer would do, I got busy and dived into the Daily Post/Prompt, Several Blog Series’ (including creating a few of my own)and many other community offerings.

Still nuttin’ honey.

I don’t think there is necessarily any sort of bias going on [as I have seen other bloggers post about], but I do think that possibly as readers and editors we all gravitate to checking up on — or checking out,  “so and so’s” blog simply because we like it. So, if staff members are like all the rest of us [I assure you they are], it is easy to see how a handful of bloggers can be repeatedly “Pressed”, even if (or when) you (or I) can immediately find 10 other posts we deem more worthy, whether one of those posts are our own or not.

If my theory is anywhere close to being correct (come one, it is at least feasible), I feel this creates fewer staff eyes on a wider section of the WordPress community because some are always gravitating to the same blogs to get their own daily dose of whoever. There are after-all only so many hours in a day, but there are always available eyes, which is just another reason to grant wish #2.

P.S. IF you ever do grant wish #3 and Freshly Press me? My sub-wish in being “Pressed” is this…please let me be “Pressed” for something I write that is meaningful and matters in some way. Thank you!

3-stars-how-i-wonder-what-you-are-wishes

WOOHOO!!! 

—> Wish Granted! Thank You, WordPress!

Pingbacks: Related Articles: Wishes from other WordPress Bloggers

  1. Daily Prompt: Lucky Stars | Journeyman
  2. 3 Wishes; You Got To Be Kidding Me! | The Jittery Goat
  3. Short of Apotheosis | Daily Prompt: Lucky Star | likereadingontrains
  4. Blogger schenken Lesefreude | lady smartypants
  5. Gates | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  6. Unicorn | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  7. DP Daily Prompt: Lucky Star | Sabethville
  8. Daily Prompt: Lucky Star | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
  9. http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/13/daily-prompt-lucky-star/ | preethikarthik06
  10. Lucky Star | An Accountant and a Mum
  11. Add Love and Stir | Travel with Intent
  12. rhapsodiesofmymind
  13. Star light, Star bright… | Sounds of Time
  14. Which Wishes Would I Wish, If I Had Wishes to Wish? | meanderedwanderings
  15. A Land which says …..”GLOOM IS BANNED” | So Not Simple
  16. DP: Lucky Star | Scorched Ice
  17. Late Season Sailing | Exploratorius
  18. Daily Prompt: Lucky Star « cognitive reflection
  19. Wishing on a falling star…that won’t get you very far | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  20. Things Are Going My Way « lordmikle
  21. Daily Prompt: Lucky Star « Mama Bear Musings
  22. Fairy Godmother Time: Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  23. Three Wishes « My journey to qualify for the Boston Marathon…and everything in between…
  24. If Wishes Were Butterflies, My Net Would Be Full… | The Eclectic Poet
  25. Twinkle Twinkle Little Star. | My Lullabies
  26. Lucky Star | Shade Walker
  27. Daily Prompt: Lucky Star – 3 Wishes | Life’s So Sweet
  28. I Have a Lucky Star ! | Knowledge Addiction
  29. If Wishes Were Horses | Unlocking The Inner Creative
  30. Three Wishes? | Post Departum Depression
  31. Do You Believe In Magick? | My Little Avalon
  32. Three Wishes For Me | Flowers and Breezes
  33. Daily Prompt: Lucky Star[Feeling Lucky - My three wishes] | Paradise and Beyond….
  34. three wishes,…… | ensuing light…
  35. If | Stephanie auf Reisen: the next adventure
  36. Do You Believe In Magick? « Shrine of Hecate – Ramblings of a New Age Witch
  37. My Three Wishes | Step Into My Head
  38. My.Vivid.Visions | Daily Prompt: Lucky Star – My 3 Wishes
  39. S. Thomas Summers: Writing with Some Ink and a Hammer | On This Day – Blizzard
  40. Daily Prompt: Lucky Star | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  41. Three Wishes in the HIV Field | Institute for Hispanic Health Equity
  42. Puppy Star! | Haiku By Ku
  43. Daily Prompt: Lucky Star | Basically Beyond Basic
  44. wishing on a star | In The Moment
  45. I’m No Beggar, But I’ll Ride That Horse! | My Author-itis
  46. Wishing On A Star! « One Crazy Mom
  47. Imagination, Imagination and Imagination | Life is great
  48. Just By Wishing | Edward Hotspur
  49. I’m a Reality Man | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  50. I Promise I Won’t Bite You
  51. Lucky star wishes were once grand: Today I just want the snow to go away and be in Candyland « psychologistmimi
  52. DP: I Wish… | As I See It
  53. Free to a Good Home | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  54. 3 wishes | A mom’s blog
  55. How hard it is | Parents Are People Too
  56. Daily Prompt – Lucky Star | Views Splash!
  57. Daily Prompt: Make a Wish | Daily Prompt & Blogging Progress
  58. Lucky Star: Daily Post | Destino
  59. Lucky Star | The Nameless One
  60. The Three Wishes | Must Be This Tall To Ride
  61. Daily Prompt: LUCKY STAR | Duniya Ku
  62. Lucky Stars? | martha0stout
  63. Daily Prompt: Being Aladdin! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
  64. stranded | yi-ching lin photography
  65. IF WISHES WERE HORSES … | SERENDIPITY
  66. we grow out of | y
  67. Daily Prompt: Lucky Star | The Wandering Poet
  68. …abiding by the No “I wish for endless wishes” rule? | thoughtsofrkh
  69. If I Wished Upon A Star – Musings
  70. A Wish in The Wind…. | My Play Nook
  71. Daily Prompt: Lucky Star | justbeverity
  72. If I Could Have Three Wishes | A New Life Wandering
  73. Lucky Star, Lucky Strike, Lucky Rabbit’s Foot? | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real
  74. Daily Prompt: Lucky Star |
  75. Lucky Star | A Taswegian in Finland
  76. When you wish upon a star… | The Shotgun Girls

18 comments on “The 3 Wishes WordPress Can Grant Me

  1. iamforchange
    February 13, 2014

    They should give you a job after all that creative expression… I would! :) Cool post!

  2. Kanerva
    February 13, 2014

    Nice wishes! I hope they all come to fruition :)

    • Cheri
      February 13, 2014

      Me too! :p Thanks for reading!

  3. ranu802
    February 13, 2014

    Well I think wordpress should grant your wishes. Since they volunteered to give three wishes.

    • Cheri
      February 13, 2014

      Exactly! ;) … otherwise, isn’t it kind of “false advertising” or something? :p

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Lucky Star and An Old Joke | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Lucky Star | The Wandering Poet

  6. Pingback: wishing on a star | In The Moment

  7. Pingback: Can someone find me a Genie? | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  8. Pingback: 3 wishes | A mom's blog

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Lucky Star | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Lucky Star | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  11. Pingback: Lucky star wishes were once grand: Today I just want the snow to go away and be in Candyland « psychologistmimi

  12. diannegray
    February 14, 2014

    Great wishes, Cheri! You’re a brilliant ambassador for WP and should be Freshly Pressed.

    On a side note: I was FP’d last year and I called my hubby to tell him and he thought I said I was Fleshly Pressed. He asked me who did it and I said WP and we had this confusing conversation where he couldn’t understand who had touched my flesh!

    • Cheri
      February 14, 2014

      LMAO OMG I am cracking up!!! It’s like autocorrect :p

  13. Cheri
    February 14, 2014

    LOL, WordPress ROCKS!!! They actually granted one of my wishes!!! I of course will make a blog post about it…which of the three do you think it is???

  14. Pingback: Wish Granted! Thank You, WordPress! | Cheri Speak

Now it's my turn to listen...

rAnDoMnEsS

get-random-post

Get the Cheri Speak Badge

cheri-speak-badge

IT’S FREE!

You do not need to be a WordPress member to subscribe. Just enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Thank you very much for following! :)

Join 994 other followers

Tweet @CheriSpeak

Connect With Me

Cheri Roberts

Published Freelance Writer

Non-Fiction, Technical, Creative, Marketing, Copy, and Conetnt.

RSS Glenn Greenwald on The Intercept

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Sign Up Today!

boot-camps-for-bloggers

YOU ARE THE MEDIA!

BE THE MEDIA | Buy The Book!

Make it stop…

"We need to create the desire to know within the minds of the populous. Because, when they know, they will no longer be able to remain idle, nor silent". ~ Cheri Roberts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 994 other followers

