Cheri Speak

Are you listening?

Leaving My Mark

dont-forget-me-make-a-mark-legacy

We all struggle with our own relevance in a sea of humanity that buries us in the relevance of something or someone else. We frantically and figuratively wave our hands; calling out. “do you see me?”

Humans have an innate desire to matter.

I want to matter.

No…

…I have to matter.

Otherwise, I am insignificant and my time here has been wasted without a contribution to humanity.

Will You Remember Me?

From an early age I have been afraid I would not be remembered; that I would do nothing of real significance for which to be remembered for.

Amy Winehouse said it best,

“My greatest fear is for me dying with no one knowing of any contribution I’ve ever made to create…” 

Most people ask the question “Why are we here” and although I do not have the answer to why YOU are here, I know I was put here and given gifts that were meant to share with all of you.

I Am Here To Create

I think all creatives have a drive to make their mark.

It isn’t about money. It is an overwhelming need in each of us that we cannot ignore or deny. We have to live these artists’ lives, starving or otherwise, because surely if we did not pursue our creative endeavors we would shrivel up inside. It is a part of our DNA and without a creative release we would quite possibly go insane.

I have spent decades doing what I can only hope are remarkable and memorable things; things that say “I was here” so that someone someday will look at my drawingsread my writings, or hear my voice and say, “I would like to have known her” or “I knew her and she was great”…or even more profound…”I miss her”.

will-you-remember-me

Related DailyPrompt Articles:

How I Imagine MY Funeral: Chat in the Box

  1. Embrace the Suck | Exploratorius
  2. The family that sneezes together, stays together! | alienorajt
  3. Daily Prompt: Legacy « Vicariously Poetic
  4. Legacy | My Little Avalon
  5. Albert In Charge And The Daily Prompt | The Jittery Goat
  6. Mantra of Life | Rima Hassan
  7. I Will Not Die ! | Knowledge Addiction
  8. Just a memory | We Live In A Flat
  9. When People Have More Faith in You than Yourself | Rima Hassan
  10. No thanks, I don’t much fancy contemplating snuffing it. Ask me Tuesday, maybe? | thoughtsofrkh
  11. Daily Prompt: Don’t You Forget About Me | A Day In The Life
  12. Daily Prompt: Don’t You Forget About Me | بيسان
  13. ‘Forget About Me’ | jigokucho
  14. Darling loved ones…Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  15. Daily Promt: Don’t you forget about me-Wisdom | Journeyman
  16. Legacy | A mom’s blog
  17. Legacy Shmegacy | mostlytrueramblings
  18. DP Daily Prompt: Don’t You Forget About Me | Sabethville
  19. Daily Prompt: Don’t You Forget About Me | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  20. So much yet so little | A picture is worth 1000 words
  21. Death Among Friends – Musings | wangsgard.com
  22. Condemned | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  23. Soundtrack Series – 001 | My Days In A Song
  24. I’m Not Evil | Views Splash!
  25. S. Thomas Summers: Writing with Some Ink and a Hammer | Legacy
  26. A way to Life.. | WanderLust
  27. Daily Prompt: Don’t You Forget About Me #photography #legacy | ThisCornerOfTheWoods
  28. My Legacy | Read Me
  29. A Eulogy | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  30. Leaving A Legacy | Pinstripes&Lipgloss
  31. Love for a time with no end… | Hope* the happy hugger
  32. A Limping Legacy | Finale to an Entrance
  33. Twenty-seven year bore | shame
  34. Daily Prompt: Don’t You Forget About Me | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  35. My Legacy | Flowers and Breezes
  36. Live as if you’d drop dead in ten seconds… | An Upturned Soul
  37. Daily Prompt: Don’t You Forget About Me « Mama Bear Musings
  38. A Pup’s Legacy… | Haiku By Ku
  39. A Part of Something Bigger | My Author-itis
  40. Writer’s Block | FILMS | FOOD | POETRY
  41. 267. Forget Me Not | Barely Right of Center
  42. Don’t you… Forget about me. | The Shevster’s Space
  43. Daily Prompt: Don’t You Forget About Me | Basically Beyond Basic
  44. There Is Hidden Treasure | The Chatter Blog
  45. My Infamous Head Tilt:DP | BLUE BEAD PUBLICATIONS
  46. Daily Prompt: Don’t You Forget About Me | Occasional Stuff
  47. February: You Give Me Fever and a Legacy Quest « psychologistmimi
  48. Remember | The Well
  49. Dogs Leave No Tales | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  50. …… | The Wandering Poet
  51. The Tender Things That We Were Working On
  52. Legacy: Daily Post | Destino
  53. Daily Prompt: Being Everlasting! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
  54. I want to be remembered as a suicide survivor | Schizo Incognito
  55. This Mathematical Revolution Shall be a Legacy for Us All | Nerd.Laugh.Love
  56. Legacy of Hope | Embracing the Journey
  57. Beginnings | Kate Murray
  58. Daily Prompt: Don’t You Forget About Me…The Funnest Funeral Ever | Cupid or Cats
  59. Remember Me How | Among the Whispers
  60. The story is writing | dark circles, etc
  61. Daily Prompt: Don’t You Forget Me/Staying in Focus:Remember For Me | Staying in Focus
  62. Daily Prompt: Don’t You Forget About Me – My Life, My Way, My Words
  63. Legacy | The Silver Leaf Journal
  64. Accountability | “Crone-ing”
  65. Alzheimer’s | Paper Plane Pilots
  66. What sort of lasting effect do you want to have on the world? | Current Events in Light of the Kingdom of God
  67. DP: Legacy | forgottenmeadows
  68. Borrowed time | Le Drake Noir
  69. Beyond the Tomb | Buzzy Beez
  70. Daily Prompt: Don’t You Forget About Me | The Daily Post | The World According to Me…
  71. Daily Prompt: Don’t You Forget About Me | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  72. Peaking Waters |
  73. Daily Prompt: Don’t You Forget About Me | Burning Fire Shut Up In My Bones
  74. The girl who truly lived | U Be Cute – Follow the child inside of you…
  75. Fight the Good Fight, Finish the Race and Keep the Faith | meanderedwanderings
  76. Death Among Friends – Writing | wangsgard.com
  77. Legacy: What Are You Leaving for Your Future Generations? | The Christian Gazette
  78. What Kind of Legacy Will You Leave? | She Dares to Voice
  79. Don’t You Forget About Me | Artistic Milestones
  80. Land Of Mike

12 comments on “Leaving My Mark

  1. Pingback: There Is Hidden Treasure | The Chatter Blog

  2. ranu802
    February 16, 2014

    Nice post,we somehow do make our mark.The problem is how did we do it and are we going to be remembered for it.

    • Cheri
      February 16, 2014

      absolutely, and whether the :mark” is beneficial to all or a disservice to all.

  3. Pingback: Leave It | Edward Hotspur

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Don’t You Forget About Me | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: February: You Give Me Fever and a Legacy Quest « psychologistmimi

  6. Pingback: Monday Morning Memes | Cheri Speak

  7. Pingback: Speaking of Amy Winehouse… | Cheri Speak

  8. Pingback: This thought FREAKS me out | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  9. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – Integrity’s Touch | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  10. insearchofitall
    April 25, 2014

    Lois sent me over and I like what you have to say. Oddly, I’ve been saying it to myself, oh so quietly for many years. I do not want to die with an unlived life. I think we all feel an need to share ourselves in whatever way possible. I’ll be back. Thank you.

Now it's my turn to listen...

rAnDoMnEsS

get-random-post

Get the Cheri Speak Badge

cheri-speak-badge

IT’S FREE!

You do not need to be a WordPress member to subscribe. Just enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Thank you very much for following! :)

Join 999 other followers

Tweet @CheriSpeak

Connect With Me

Cheri Roberts

Published Freelance Writer

Non-Fiction, Technical, Creative, Marketing, Copy, and Conetnt.

RSS Glenn Greenwald on The Intercept

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Sign Up Today!

boot-camps-for-bloggers

YOU ARE THE MEDIA!

BE THE MEDIA | Buy The Book!

Make it stop…

"We need to create the desire to know within the minds of the populous. Because, when they know, they will no longer be able to remain idle, nor silent". ~ Cheri Roberts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 999 other followers

