Cheri Speak

Are you listening?

Abby Martin Is No Charlie Veitch

abby-martin-911-truth-rt

Image Source: RT/Breaking the Set with Abby Martin

Over the past week a shit-storm of controversy has rained down on Abby Martin — the edgy host of RT’s, Breaking the Set.

Some journalists, like Glenn Greenwald of the Intercept, applauded Martin for her bravery in speaking out against Russia’s acts against Crimea on her March 3rd, show.

RT — or Russia Today, is owned and financed by the Russian government, an employer Martin says gives her journalistic freedom.

Other journalists were not so kind. The NYT outed Martin as a “9/11 Truth conspiracy theorist” and the Daily Banter went so far as to use 6-year-old video footage of Martin marching for 9/11 Truth in Santa Monica, CA , highlighting her statements of the attacks being an, “inside job” as evidence to discredit her and her political opinion as biased, fringe and even clownish.

The videographer/interviewer of the controversial statements was Jock Doubleday and Martin’s tone and talk was that of one Truther talking to another with confidence in the heat of — what was at the time, an exciting moment. The “interview” was done with everyone knowing the video was meant to be a documentation of what were “angst ridden” times for many and those of us that participate in street actions know if we want accurate documentation, the mainstream media isn’t going to provide it for us.

This was no small cannon-shot fired by these mediums and the reverberations are still being felt, but nowhere more so than within the 9/11 Truth community itself.

I would argue and caution all people seeking real answers into what happened on September 11, 2001, that the mainstream media’s intent in outing Martin is not simply to discredit her to the average citizen and/or her media peers, but instead was a calculated attempt to discredit her specifically to her fellow 9/11 Truth activists in order to deplete her show’s strongest cume (viewership).

In taking away her audience, they take away her show; which means she will no longer have a platform for Truth of any variety and Martin’s voice of dissent against corporate interests and government corruption will be effectively silenced. A voice I might add, that has done more to consistently get 9/11 Truth and the movements experts and leaders in and on the news to reach a broader audience in a positive light than any other journalist out there.

And, this…is the voice you are participating in silencing…

As I currently see it, the media has done a bang-up job because the Truth movement has come out in cult-like force against Martin — the woman they once idolized, chased and panted after, and are doing so without apology; brazenly equating her actions with those of turn-coat Truther Charlie Veitch.

In the meantime, the Daily Banter continues their aggressive attack on Abby and 9/11 Truth in general [that means you] and lays claims that Alex Jones is her [and our] “potentate” [leader].

abby-martin-alex-jones-daily-banter

Image Source: Daily Banter Screenshot

I do not claim to speak for Martin, but as both a 20-year media professional and a fellow “Truther” I can at least provide my take on these unfolding events. Some of what I say here, will not make me popular, but I have never been involved in seeking truth in order to be popular, nor has Martin.

I have known Martin for many years. She is one of countless individuals I have marched with at different events and someone I have come to trust and appreciate greatly; she has also become one of several of my “go-to” people in the media.

Although she and I have not always agreed on everything along the way,  I can tell you we both agree the Truth movement has been hijacked by Alex Jones style extremists who believe (or purport to believe) that everything is a conspiracy and in doing so they have tainted the credibility people like her and I have worked so hard to help establish.

There comes a point in time, when we have to determine what or who we want our name and/or reputation aligned with and the Alex Jones types are exactly the types Martin, myself and countless others, have distanced ourselves from.

After the media lambasting, Martin came forward with a statement she posted to 911Blogger addressing what she called the “hack smear campaign” being done on her and said she,”no longer stands by” her past statements claiming “9/11 was an inside job” .

Truthers everywhere went nuts and the internet has been on fire.

abby-martin-statement-911-blogger

Image Source: 911Blogger Screenshot

As I have pointed out here — and elsewhere, over the past few days, Martin’s stance on the use of the term, inside job” — and others like it, is not anything new nor has it been a secret.

Even the slam article by the Daily Banter clearly points this fact out.

daily-banter-abby-martin-changed-years-ago

Image Source: Daily Banter Screenshot

Anyone interacting with Martin or actively watching her show and other interviews for any amount of time, already knew this to be true.

So, why is this news?

For those circulating the “news” with hate-filled posts you are doing little more than prove Martin’s own point about,  “the language here is used as a discrediting factor…” If you were unaware of Martin’s stance before now, then that is your own mistake.

Not only is the language being used to discredit her, it is also a term that has caused as much divide in the Truth movement as believers of Judy Woods’ “spacebeams” and other “no-plane” theories — which is what I believe is part of what Abby was trying to convey in her 911Blogger statement on the issue.

I can opine on that with some authority since she and I have discussed this very thing several times, usually in reference to Alex Jones and we are in agreement that our approach and language as a movement needs to change if we ever hope to be taken seriously and become effective, let a lone achieve real results.

When Luke Rudkowski first came on the scene pushing video cameras in the faces of anyone he and his followers deemed to have inside knowledge of 9/11, the then existing core of the Truth movement was in two camps:

  • Rudkowski was galvanizing an entire generation of people who were basically still children when the events of 9/11 occurred.
  • Rudkowski was unwittingly creating a division.

The new energy Rudkowski infused within the movement was simultaneously welcomed and feared. We were tired and worn out after years of this shit so the huge influx of fresh “activists” was a relief however; many people inevitably distanced themselves from Rudkowski and his efforts because they disagreed with his means, methods and tactics which were quite similar to those of Alex Jones and Jones was someone quickly becoming persona non grata and many in the Truth movement no longer (or ever) supported him [Jones].

I bring up Rudkowski because this was really the beginning — in my opinion, of where things began to go wrong and become cumbersome within the Truth movement. I have a lot of respect for Rudkowski. He is a born leader (even though he really hates being acknowledged as one) and he led well, but he was young and today he is somewhat of a different guy then in his heyday. The same can be said for Dylan Avery, Korey Roe, Jason Bermas and the Loose Change crew. They grew up. They learned. They evolved, just as Abby Martin has evolved. Just as I have evolved and hopefully, just as you will evolve….but, in order for the Truth to evolve with us, we need to work smarter, not just harder and we need to unify our message and stop attacking one another.

It’s more than twelve-years later and “They” are still winning, but only because we are our own worst enemy.

speak-my-truth-abby-martin

26 comments on “Abby Martin Is No Charlie Veitch

  1. ajmacdonaldjr
    March 10, 2014

    This issue isn’t worth spilling virtual ink over. No media personality/outlet — mainstream/alternative — can be trusted.

    • Cheri
      March 10, 2014

      Abby is not a media “outlet” and I trust her. I have known her on a personal level for years, unlike those who seem to think they know her at all.

    • ruffadam
      April 14, 2014

      Well if EVERYONE is not to be trusted we are all truly screwed aren’t we? No, saying no one can be trusted is a cop out, a way to avoid getting involved. Yes no one is perfect but some people are really good and are in fact worthy of support.

      • Cheri
        April 14, 2014

        Now this I agree with however each person mistakenly judges all people based on those few things they disagree with, just like your new found opinion of Abby ;)

  2. Tree Hugger
    March 10, 2014

    Great write-up, Cheri. AJ and some of his acolytes are too militant for me, too.
    I have to say, though, that I’ve never before encountered anyone who used to believe that 9-11 was an inside job, and later change their mind. I think that’s due to the fact that the more one learns about 9-11, the more evidence one finds indicating that it was an inside job. I wonder if Abby has been coerced in some way to change her stance.

    • Cheri
      March 10, 2014

      Thank you. No…Abby still believes what she believes, this I know for a fact…the issue is her presentation of what she believes in order to maintain any journalistic credence so that she CAN continue putting the message of Truth out there and reach beyond the choir ;)

  3. Pingback: Is Abby Martin an Inside Job? | Reasoning Conspiracy

  4. ruffadam
    April 13, 2014

    Well I too know Abby and although I do not equate her with the likes of Charlie Vietch who betrayed the truth movement like Judas I do think she has backed off of her former stance that 9/11 was an inside job in order to placate someone. Perhaps her bosses at RT, perhaps those who still have their heads buried in the sand regarding 9/11 I am not sure. Perhaps she doesn’t know why she has credibility with me and many others? I gave her credit BECAUSE she had the guts to say 9/11 was an inside job! Now she is backing away from that true and accurate statement. That takes away credibility from her in my view. I still like Abby but I no longer consider her to be a truth movement leader. Have the guts to stick to your guns and I stick with you! Waffle on your 9/11 position and you have lost some of my respect. I am sure neither Abby nor you care what I think but it is important to me to clarify what the issue really is. I can stand in front of anyone on earth and say with total confidence that 9/11 was an inside job and back my statement up with overwhelming evidence. I don’t waffle and no one should once they know the facts of 9/11. At this point in history the only people who do not know the truth about 9/11 are those who do not want to know the truth because they can’t deal with the implications.

    • Cheri
      April 14, 2014

      Abby moved away from much of this because of people lambasting, harassing and threatening her over Sandy Hook BS Adam. So if her life is less important than anyone else’s opinion, than by all means…

  5. ruffadam
    April 14, 2014

    As to your characterization of Luke Rudkowski I know for a fact that you are way off base and out of line. Luke is what real reporters look like. His reports are outstanding, he has confronted Larry Silverstein, Henry Kissinger, and so many others I can’t even count them all. Luke is quite simply the man when it comes to real journalism. As to Alex Jones while I agree his bombastic style turns some people off he too is what real reporters look like. Has he ever made mistakes? Sure he has but the vast majority of the time he is right on the money and the most important thing is that he covers the stories the corporate dinosaur media will not cover at all. For example the Sandy Hook hoax and the Boston Bombing false flag operation. Now perhaps you don’t like those stories but never the less the evidence that he is correct about both is extensive. Not liking his stories is not the same as showing him to be wrong. Now the question here is can your position withstand scrutiny because his and mine have withstood it and come out unscathed. Just look up Wolfgang Halbig on youtube and see if you can withstand his Sandy Hook information that shows it was indeed an elaborate and horrible hoax. Emotionalism doesn’t cut it, can you refute what the man has to say, that is the question? Same with Alex Jones, not liking what he has to say or the way he says it does nothing to refute his statements. In any case Alex Jones and his crew were a big part of a major victory for the American people that took place today! Look up Cliven Bundy vs. the BLM for the details. Sorry Cheri but I think you are confusing your emotions for facts.

    • Cheri
      April 14, 2014

      I have no beef with Luke and applauded him. He know’s this. WRT Alex Jones, I did an extensive piece as has Project Censored debunking Jones.

      • ruffadam
        April 14, 2014

        Could you link me to your debunk of AJ? I would like to read it.

      • Cheri
        April 15, 2014

        Here is one piece debunking just one of Alex Jones’ lies and embellishments and fear mongering. http://cherispeak.wordpress.com/2013/07/26/ssg-biggs-has-hastings-friend-turned-family-foe/ also, you should check out Project censored’s brilliant piece on Alex Jones’ lies here http://www.projectcensored.org/disinfo-wars-alex-jones-war-mind/

      • ruffadam
        April 15, 2014

        Check your e-mail Cheri. I will read through the links you posted.

      • Cheri
        April 15, 2014

        I replied :)

      • ruffadam
        April 15, 2014

        Ok I read through the links you provided about Jones and I am less than impressed especially with the project censored piece. They list the SPLC as a source and in the story and they are about the worst liars I have ever come across in my life. Their credibility is ZERO, less than zero! In fact I know personally that they are lying sacks of dog crap and they do little more than spread smears and hateful propaganda. Oh man don’t get me started! This project Censored piece would be torn to shreds if I had the time to do it but it seems to me that the comment section of the piece is filled with people already doing it so thankfully I don’t need to. AJ is a lot of things and I can understand why some people do not like him but on the whole I do like what he is doing and he is reaching a whole hell of a lot of people. Most of his stories and reports ring true and the few that do not I say something about. I believe he is doing a lot of good and he is fighting for what he honestly believes is right.

        Your piece sounds to me like the problem is Biggs not necessarily AJ. So anyway I will say more some other time but I am more convinced than ever that a lot of people are biased against AJ because he is so bombastic and aggressive. When it comes right down to it you have not shown him to be lying or distorting anything, by your own admission Biggs did not correct him if he said something wrong so how can you blame AJ for anything more than possibly making a mistake and counting on his guest who supposedly knew Hastings to correct it?

        Take for example my report “Big Media and the lies they tell” where I expose ABC’s Brian Ross for lying about the anthrax attacks. Now that is exposing a liar and a blatant bold faced lie! He still has not corrected the record by the way. The MSM is a disgusting pile of cowards and liars and they deserve to be dying and they are!

      • Cheri
        April 15, 2014

        I am in support of Project Censored. We can agree to disagree about Alex Jones whom I believe to be a modern day cult leader and he knows it. It’s not a secret. As for Biggs mistakes, yes he made many, he has become a friend and he did try to correct Jones several times off air then and during other pieces. He was just happy someone was talking about Hastings. I will watch your piece when i have time to give it the attention it deserves. BTW Kevin Ryan loved our Bill Maher piece…OH and you have another email.

  6. ruffadam
    April 15, 2014

    It is concerning to me the comments I made that you have chosen to leave unpublished in the moderation queue. I posted them at the same time as others you published. Are you blocking my comments?

    • Cheri
      April 15, 2014

      No Adam I simply do not have time to respond to them. Michael Ruppert killed himself. I’m a little busy right now.

      • ruffadam
        April 15, 2014

        Ok if you are too busy to push a button I understand. It sure feels like you want to stop any discussion of certain topics though which is not cool with me but oh well you are the boss round here so I guess that is the way it will be. Someday you will not be able to escape the truth though, it will be right in your face and will not go away no matter who you gag. I thought you were better than 911blogger which is a monument to Stalinist censorship and cointelpro type infiltration all the way up to the mods. That place is no truth site that is a fact

        As to Ruppert I am sorry to hear that but I will caution you about believing he killed himself before investigating.

        Anyway best of luck to you. I blog on Truth and Shadows if you ever want to stop by and chime in. I blog there because no one is censored and it is the best arguments that win the day not selective “moderation” deciding who speaks and who doesn’t like at 911blogger and apparently here. Blocking people from speaking is a cheap way to “win” and you know what you don’t actually win anything, you lose.

      • Cheri
        April 15, 2014

        First of all Adam – nice to see you finally using a real name BTW, I don’t have time to respond to YOUR posts right now on what is an old story.Your comment is in depth and I am happy to let them through once I have time to actually respond to them however my site is not another conspiracy site where anything goes and people waste countless hours (i.e. read waste their lives, marriages, parenthood) debating BS versus actually doing something about the BS. In addition, I do not have time to hash and rehash old shit. I work for a living and have chosen a path that pays little for extensive amounts of my time, but it makes me happy and being able to feed and shelter myself is my priority over arguing with you….Now, IF you should want to talk to me and maybe follow through on some of the promises you have made then you do know how to contact me directly. In the meantime, enjoy Truth and Shadows where they DO in fact censor…let’s not forget my interactions with you and them there where I have screen shots of the edits and deletions. In fact, it is YOUR fault my site has become a moderated site. Until then, there was no need. So carry on “my friend”, something you have still professed to be yet the actions of someone as such have been lacking. I wish you nothing, but peace, happiness and health.

      • ruffadam
        April 15, 2014

        Well I thought the whole point of a blog was to discuss things? I guess Sandy Hook and Boston which directly relate to the Abby Martin story are off limits here as those are the comments that remain unpublished. You know if you do not have time at the moment to respond to every comment that is fine you do not have to respond right away, it is no big deal. What is a big deal to me is not publishing the comments at all. If you are not going to allow others to speak their mind you should not put up a blog at all. It pisses me off to write a lengthy and thoughtful comment and never see it. I have used my real name on blogs and on Unspun Newz for years by the way Cheri.

        Anyway at Truth and Shadows there is no censorship and I challenge you to show that there is. There have been about 3 or 4 trolls over several years of operation who have been banned after multiple warnings for being complete jerks who fail repeatedly to respond to others yet attack and slander them relentlessly. Those trolls were given plenty of time to respond and say whatever they wanted and Craig showed the patience of Jobe with all of them. They were clearly there only to disrupt the blog not to discuss anything so they were banned. So to claim censorship there is bull they were allowed to post freely whatever they wanted. 911blogger is the world champion of censorship they have banned literally dozens and dozens of people who violated no rules whatsoever including Barrie Zwicker by the way. The mods there are so completely compromised and biased it would not surprise me at all if several of them get paid directly by the NSA Q-Group. Anyway I can see you are right about one thing, this is going nowhere fast.

        As to any personal promises that were made we should discuss that over e-mail, not here. In fact from this point on I will send the rest of my message via e-mail.

      • Cheri
        April 15, 2014

        Also, I’m not ignoring you nor your other posts, but there is much on them I would like to be able to address, not have to come back to an encyclopedia in a few days or whatever. I do not have that kind of time.

      • Cheri
        April 15, 2014

        oh and as for Ruppert, I am investigating and am in direct contact with his personal attorney and more, this is a RIGHT NOW story, which is why I have no time for what I consider to be a waste of time argument with someone I care about. I have chosen long ago to love you regardless of whether I heartily disagree with you often.

  7. tinnsaw
    April 17, 2014

    Important publication.

  8. Pingback: 46 Things I Didn’t Expect By 46 | Cheri Speak

Now it's my turn to listen...

rAnDoMnEsS

get-random-post

Get the Cheri Speak Badge

cheri-speak-badge

IT’S FREE!

You do not need to be a WordPress member to subscribe. Just enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Thank you very much for following! :)

Join 1,001 other followers

Tweet @CheriSpeak

Connect With Me

Cheri Roberts

Published Freelance Writer

Non-Fiction, Technical, Creative, Marketing, Copy, and Conetnt.

RSS Glenn Greenwald on The Intercept

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Sign Up Today!

boot-camps-for-bloggers

YOU ARE THE MEDIA!

BE THE MEDIA | Buy The Book!

Make it stop…

"We need to create the desire to know within the minds of the populous. Because, when they know, they will no longer be able to remain idle, nor silent". ~ Cheri Roberts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,001 other followers

