Cheri Speak

Are you listening?

Quote Me

Image Source: governmentalityblog.com

Image Source: governmentalityblog.com

When I chose the name of my Blog I decided Cheri Speak was the most appropriate and quite honestly Cheriisms looked too confusing for a URL. People can barely remember how my name is spelled (and pronounced) to begin with, I didn’t dare stick them with a double “i” I was sure would get forgotten. Cheri Speak became my home for all things “Cheri” including some witty or profound quotes I have often not been credited with. I figured if I put everything in one place some attribution might just come my way.

I like a lot of quotes. I use them for work as well as for casual writing. I think properly placed quotes can be powerful and help emphasize a presentation, proposal, resume, article, and a horde of other things. I also like to come up with witty, thought provoking quotes of my own and have three that I think are quite profound. They are kind of my own “rules to live by” and when I saw today’s Daily Prompt titled  “Quote Me”,  I thought this would be a great place to share.

“When you belittle, you are small.” by, Cheri Roberts 

Image Source: wfuv.org

Image Source: wfuv.org

This is currently one of my biggest pet peeves and I believe the internet culture has a lot to do with how we interact. It is unfortunate that many of us Engage to Enrage and I feel we all — to a certain extent, need to Adjust Our Settings. I do not understand why people think they can say whatever they want to one another online. I think — in part, it is due to the beginnings of the World Wide Web when most of us surfed anonymously. It created a certain power to be able to read and comment as we pleased without one knowing who we were. Unfortunately that mentality seems to have only grown even though most of us were forced to come out of the shadows of anonymity by platforms like FaceBook and Twitter. Yes, there are still ways to lie and be whoever we want to be, but you know what I mean.

The language we use with one another through social media is disgusting (most of the time). I see so many people calling each other names over the stupidest things. Opinions are used like weapons and if you disagree there are countless individuals ready to fire the cannon of insults like; “asshat”, “fucktard”, “moron”, etc.. I seriously doubt people would actually talk the same way if their target was face to face in front of them. We have lost a certain amount of humanity while we gained a tool for connecting and multi-tasking. I don’t think people realize that when they behave this way it only makes them seem small.

“There is only one thing that stands between darkness and light. It’s called a cloud. Don’t be your own cloud.” by, Cheri Roberts 

Image Source: theparalegalsociety.wordpress.com

Image Source: theparalegalsociety.wordpress.com

This is one of those “Practice what you preach” type reminders for my daily life. I can often get depressed and think the world is out to keep me down and not too very long ago this little gem popped in my head. It’s quite true. We need to remember to not get in our own way of happiness.

“We need to create the desire to know within the minds of the populous. Because, when they know, they will no longer be able to remain idle, nor silent.” by, Cheri Roberts

Image Source: demiansyahhh.blogspot.com

Image Source: demiansyahhh.blogspot.com

I am an activist. I am not affiliated nor supportive of a political party and instead work hard towards a better understanding of the world around us, how it works, who controls it, the individual issues unattached to politicans and special interests, and just generally what my place in civilization is. I have found over the past decade that there are a lot of people who are just like I used to be, complacent. And there are also a lot of people who seem to care about a lot of issues yet they feel powerless.

I think it is my place in this world to help create the desire to know. I don’t think yelling things out of bull-horns on street corners is quite as effective as a lot of activists think it is. There is nothing actionable for the receiver of the message and without action there can be no resolutions or solutions. So, if I can create curiosity about issues and people I believe it becomes a catalyst for them to want to know more and trust me, people are much more inclined to believe what they themselves discover then what someone else tells them to believe. Of course, that can only happen if they truly have the desire to know.

15 comments on “Quote Me

  1. C. R.
    January 4, 2013

    You can see more of my favorite quotes by others below 🙂

    Like

  2. Joe Cardillo
    January 4, 2013

    I like “When you belittle, you are small”

    It’s strange to me that people are willing to be so vitriolic online. I sort of expect it in some places, but it’s really jarring when you read a well thought out article in the Washington Post and the comment section immediately devolves into things like “you’re a f****head commie tartface who eats stupid s*** for breakfast.” I mean, what is the point of that? The only conclusion I can come to is that there are a whole lot more people I would never want to meet in real life than I thought there were.

    #3 is great too, curiosity, that is a key to living a life of consequence.

    Like

    • C. R.
      January 4, 2013

      Thank you Joe. I appreciate the nice comment and of course agree about the way people talk to one another online. I write about it often. If you are interested see Do You Engage to Enrage and Adjust Your Settings. I am actually working on something a bit deeper, but on the same subject…kind of 😉
      As for #3 I have been an activist for a long time. There is always an assumption by people that I am from one party or another. I’m not. I think parties are the problem. So having learned many lessons (some the hard way) I boiled it down to what exactly I felt so compelled to be/do regarding our world. That was the result.

      Like

  3. Joe Cardillo
    January 4, 2013

    I would love to see a book about how/why people get enraged online (hint hint) =)
    Agreed on parties, I think it’s clear there’s a real problem when people are forced to choose aligning with a party for strategic reasons despite reservations.

    Like

  4. seeker
    January 5, 2013

    I want to know and belittling is not a good thing. Good ones

    Like

    • C. R.
      January 5, 2013

      Thank you 🙂 Always nice to meet a fellow “Seeker”.

      Like

  5. Corner of Confessions
    January 5, 2013

    I’m actually very drawn to your second quote. How profound! We are often are own biggest critic and worst enemy. Most of the time we have to overcome ourselves to be happy. Nice quote to remember that.

    Like

  6. meghansilva
    January 8, 2013

    loving this post Cheri … my favorite “There is only one thing that stands between darkness and light. It’s called a cloud. Don’t be your own cloud.” by, Cheri Roberts … these are words are powerful… often we find ourselves standing in our own way…

    Like

    • C. R.
      January 8, 2013

      Thank you. Yes, it’s my private little mantra 🙂

      Like

Now it's my turn to listen...

QUOTES

CHERI-SPEAK-QUOTES
Protected by Copyscape Online Plagiarism Tool

Sign Up Today!

boot-camps-for-bloggers

You do not need to be a WordPress member to subscribe. Just enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Thank you very much for following! :)

Join 1,653 other followers

Tweet @CheriSpeak

IT’S FREE!

Get the Cheri Speak Badge

cheri-speak-badge
