Cheri Speak

Are you listening?

“Speaker’s Ball” Bloggers Challenge

Speakers BallThere are a lot of “Blogging Awards” getting passed around, and although I appreciate every one I receive (as I’m sure you do too), I would feel more worthy if I knew I had actually done something to achieve them. That being said, I thought I would propose a Blog Challenge of my own. Welcome to the “Speaker’s Ball” where you will have a chance to earn some brand new Blogging rewards.

What greater satisfaction is there for a writer than to have readers that appreciate what they do?  And what greater satisfaction for a reader than to have a writer that cares about what you appreciate? Let’s highlight and honor the stand-outs.

Are you up for the challenge? I promise I’m not going to ask you to reveal “7 things about yourself” or to nominate and pass an award on to 15 other Bloggers. Sound like fun? It will be if you participate!

The “Speaker’s Ball” Blog Challenge

images (4)To win the “Speaker’s Ball Blog Challenge Award” all you have to do is complete the following three (3) part challenge. Each step is it’s own individual post and should be linked (pinged) back to this post so I know who is participating. Be sure to also ping — or otherwise notify your nominees in step-3. Once all entries are in I will create a poll with the qualifying candidates so readers can vote. 

Challenge begins February 1st, 2013 and ends February 28th, 2013 at midnight PST

When putting your pieces together imagine it is a page (or part of a page) in a magazine or news paper. Before submitting, think about more than the words, also think about how it should look and feel. Are you utilizing all of the free tools available through the WordPress platform? HINT: Adding “related articles” and “related images” along with multiple “share” options helps increase your chances of gaining new readers.

Step-1“SCOOP”, Apx. 300-500 words…You are a roving reporter and you must write a news piece — with images, on anything that is currently trending. This can be something that is trivial or something that is of great and/or historical significance. It’s your call.

Step-2“SEPARATED AT BIRTH”, Min. of 500 words…You just discovered I am your twin sister. We were separated at birth. You never knew you had a twin sister and have only found me in adulthood…how did you find out and what happens next? Is it like looking in a mirror?

Step-3“BLOG REVIEWS” (see details below)…There are multiple awards that are available (in addition to the “Speaker’s Ball” award above) to you or other Bloggers and you help choose the winners! Add three (3) links to three (3) different Blogs that you think should win one of the awards below. Choose your three (3) nominees carefully and be sure to designate for which award they are being nominated — choosing from the list below. Each award has a brief description to help you in your determinations. Don’t forget, these are awards of merit not “pass-it-on awards”. The nominees do not automatically win just because they are nominated – so please do not take an award. Also of note, your nominees do NOT need to take part in the challenge itself. It is YOUR participation here that qualifies them.

*A list of the nominated Blogs/Bloggers will be compiled and posted here from the entries that are pinged back to this Blog by all challenge participants. Once the nominees are in and categorized, I will ask you to visit the Blog of each nominee up for consideration and then cast your vote.
**A Poll will be created and inserted on this page after all the nominations are in.

You may nominate any Blog or Blogger you wish for any of the awards below, but you are limited to three (3). 

My (3) NOMINATIONS are (be sure to ping ‘back link‘ them and this post so I can keep track and of all of the nominees).:

1. Blog Name – Blog/Post Link – Award chosen and why you nominated them for it

2. Blog Name – Blog/Post Link – Award chosen and why you nominated them for it

3. Blog Name – Blog/Post Link – Award chosen and why you nominated them for it

Blogging Award Categories

Gut Buster award“THE GUT BUSTER AWARD”: Do you have a favorite funny man (or woman) in your “reader” who consistently makes you smile, giggle, and occasionally blow soda out of your nose? Tickle their funny bone by showing your appreciation. Nominate them for the all new “Gut Buster” Blogging Award! This award has never been won by another blogger. Your favorite could be the first if your peers agree.

Word Pusher“THE WORD PUSHER AWARD”: Do you find yourself frequenting a particular Blog over and over again? Don’t Bogart that Blog; instead nominate them for the all new “Word Pusher” Blogging award! Tell us about the “great blog” your “addicted” to! Who said addictions are bad? This award has never been won by another blogger. Your favorite could be the first if your peers agree.

The Intellect

“THE INTELLECT AWARD”:  We all have a Blog we read that really makes us think. A Blogger who poses great questions and always has something important to teach us. Nominate your favorite “Intellect”. This award has never been won by another blogger. Your favorite could be the first if your peers agree.

7th Sense“THE 7TH SENSE AWARD”: have you seen any romantic, sexy, sensual Bloggers on WordPress? There are a few that really stand-out from the sleaze  Nominate your favorite Blogger who has the “7th Sense”. This award has never been won by another blogger. Your favorite could be the first if your peers agree.

community blogger“THE COMMUNITY MAKER AWARD”: Once in a while you stumble across a Blogger so thoroughly committed to truth, peace, love, and community. Someone who leads by example. Nominate your WordPress community leader. This award has never been won by another blogger. Your favorite could be the first if your peers agree.

Here is my “Step 3” of the above Blog Challenge…

Gut Buster awardI nominate My Right to Bitch for the “Gut Buster” award. Adam’s blog is always funny, even when it’s raunchy dripping in sarcasm.

7th Sense

Part 1 Entries:

Part 2 Entries:

Part 3 Nominations:

Related articles

39 comments on ““Speaker’s Ball” Bloggers Challenge

  1. Pingback: A Thank You Note « Cheri Speak

  2. Rose Petals on Rock
    January 28, 2013

    Another blog challenge! Can barely finish the one I’m trying right now, but good luck. Nice sounding awards you have. 🙂 Hey I just remembered that I was nominated for one of those other awards, the ones that get nominations. Man I totally forgot about that. I should do something about that.

    Like

    • C. R.
      January 28, 2013

      Thank you, it took me a while to create/make them.
      LOL yes you should…and you have alllllll of February to do mine! :p

      Like

  3. Prinze Charming
    January 28, 2013

    Reblogged this on Prinze Charming and commented:
    Hey everyone, would you like to join the “Speaker’s Ball” Bloggers Challenge? Cheri, a sweetheart of mine, has a blogging event challenge that begins on February 1st! You have until February 28th, 2013 by midnight PST to submit all requirements and nominations for brand new blog awards! The only catch is that these awards are solely on merit, instead of the typical chain letter to pass around kind. All nominees do not automatically receive their awards. There will be a poll created by the end to vote for each award to one deserving nominee. So, PLEASE REBLOG THIS! Hey! Yeah, YOU! Attention all hopeless romantics out there! Check it out! There’s a 7th Sense – A Very Sensual Blog Award! Think about the guy who provided an erotic bedtime story for you! Yeah, you’re welcome! Pay it forward, and vote for me later! 😉 Thanks everyone. Take care.
    Update on my kiss poll! I have to label the questions as (1), (2), (3) because it only registered one question from the “Would You Rather,” questions, so expect a message from me shortly to verify your answers. Sorry for the inconvenience! If you did not provide your website, then please resubmit and mention that you resubmitted within the response. How else will I tell you? I was wondering why everyone was skipping the questions! It is now working. Once again, sorry for any inconvenience! Take it easy today. Sit back and relax. You deserve it! Yeah, I’m talking to you mommy! All mommies need “ME TIME” – IT’S NEVER TOO LATE! 🙂

    Like

  4. Corner of Confessions
    January 28, 2013

    I’m in!

    Like

    • C. R.
      January 28, 2013

      Yay! I can’t wait to see what you come up with! Spread it around 🙂

      Like

  5. themisanthropicmuse
    January 28, 2013

    I think this sounds like an awesomely fun idea. Best of luck with it! 🙂

    Like

    • C. R.
      January 28, 2013

      Thank you! I would love to have you participate with us!

      Like

  6. djmatticus
    January 28, 2013

    February 1st is so far away! Then again, 3 seperate challenges to complete before the end of the month, I should probably start working on those now, because February 1st is just around the corner! This is such a fun idea, I hope I can meet each of the challenges!

    Like

    • C. R.
      January 29, 2013

      yay! I look forward to seeing what you come up with!! 🙂

      Like

  7. Chatty Owl
    February 2, 2013

    This is awesome!!!

    Like

    • C. R.
      February 2, 2013

      Yay Thank you! I hope you participate!

      Like

  8. Pingback: Part 1 of Entry into ‘Speakers Ball Challenge’: Postpartum Depression Article « Legends of Windemere

  9. Prinze Charming
    February 2, 2013

    Did you just tag my sexting article … oh, you. 😉

    Like

    • C. R.
      February 2, 2013

      yes because a) it’s a good article :p wink wink and b) I realized I hadn’t actually tagged your nomination to something.

      Like

      • Prinze Charming
        February 2, 2013

        Haha, you’re only showing off my good angle! 😉 Well, it’s my pleasure to be eye candy for your blog. Thank you. 😉

        Like

  10. slepsnor
    February 2, 2013

    Reblogged this on Legends of Windemere and commented:
    Here’s a fun 3-part February challenge for all writers.

    Like

  11. Adam S
    February 2, 2013

    Thanks, Cheri! That’s awfully sweet of you! I’m flattered that you feel that way – I guess I’m doing something right. So, I can grip that badge and put it on my page?

    Like

    • C. R.
      February 2, 2013

      Nope. No freebie awards. I created these and they are to be earned. At the end of the month your Blog will be voted on against any others in the humor category. 🙂 … I’m kinda burnt out on all the “pass’em around” awards. You do not need to do anything unless you win at which point you can thank me lol :p

      Like

      • Adam S
        February 2, 2013

        Cool, I’ll keep my eyes peeled then. Thanks for thinking of me!

        Like

      • C. R.
        February 2, 2013

        LOL of course!

        Like

  12. Pingback: Part 2 of Entry into ‘Speakers Ball Challenge’: Separated at Birth « Legends of Windemere

  13. Kozo
    February 2, 2013

    Thanks, Cheri for coming up with this new way to do blog awards. Thank you also for the nomination. I can think of other bloggers out there who deserve the community maker award, but I don’t want to increase my competition, so I’ll nominate wordpushers and gutbusters. haha j/k.
    {{{Hugs}}} Kozo

    Like

  14. Pingback: Part 3 of Entry into ‘Speakers Ball Contest’: My Blogger Award Nominations « Legends of Windemere

  15. Pingback: Advertisement For Peace « Fish Of Gold

  16. Pingback: "Speaker's Ball" Bloggers Challenge! - Prinze Charming

  17. Corner of Confessions
    February 17, 2013

    Cheri, I almost forgot about this challenge! So, I wanted some clarification. For the news scoop part…can it be an opinionated article? I wanted to take a topic and discuss it( the topic is YA literature and dark themes like cutting, eating disorders, sex, drugs etc). It’s been a hot debate for a long time. One side thinks its good for teens to be introduced to these themes , in which they have to face in real life, while the other side thinks its trash and simply used for shock value to gain an audience. So there isn’t much research involved, for it be a news article with resources and stuff. But the whole topic is a debate in opinion anyway so will this work to go with the challenge?

    Like

    • C. R.
      February 17, 2013

      Yes Tasha that would be fine just keep in mind to qualify as a news story you can add some stats on cutting etc and so on 🙂 …good luck! I can’t wait. Sounds like a great piece waiting to happen!

      Like

      • Corner of Confessions
        February 17, 2013

        DONE.So i went a little crazy and wrote over 3,000 words lol. At the end of the entry I left a little note about your challenge with a ping back and i also left your link for a trackback.

        Like

      • C. R.
        February 17, 2013

        Thank you! I will check it out later tonight when no ones breathing over my shoulder here. BTW did you ping the actual challenge page? Just asking because it isn’t showing up..?

        Like

      • Corner of Confessions
        February 17, 2013

        I did ping the actual challenge page and i pinged your home page AND i put the challenge link for a trackback. Lol.

        Like

  18. Corner of Confessions
    February 26, 2013

    K, another question about part two. Can i do that part with a twist? I’ve been wanting to try to write something fiction ( cause i’m writing a memoir sort of book, I wanted to try my hand in a different type of writing) and after reading your little tease of a story i feel inspired to write some fiction. I want to use this as a prompt. So same theme/topic of finding a twin in adulthood, but from a fictional character perspective? Would that be okay for the challenge?

    Like

    • CheriSpeak
      February 26, 2013

      LOL yes because the reality of my being your long lost twin is a figment of fiction :p

      Like

  19. Corner of Confessions
    February 28, 2013

    OK, I finished part two and i dont see the pingback popping up here. But i did a pingback to this page. I left the link for a trackback too. I also left the url for a hard link in the post too.

    Like

    • CheriSpeak
      February 28, 2013

      Just seeing now and dropping YOUR link here which is the only reason I care about the ping back LOL. I want people to find your entries LOL. Will read in a lil bit. Thank you!!

      Like

  20. Pingback: Speaker’s Ball Poll | Cheri Speak

  21. Pingback: Congratulations, You Won! | Cheri Speak

Now it's my turn to listen...

QUOTES

CHERI-SPEAK-QUOTES
Protected by Copyscape Online Plagiarism Tool

Sign Up Today!

boot-camps-for-bloggers

You do not need to be a WordPress member to subscribe. Just enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Thank you very much for following! :)

Join 1,652 other followers

Tweet @CheriSpeak

IT’S FREE!

Get the Cheri Speak Badge

cheri-speak-badge
