Cheri Speak

Are you listening?

Sneak Peek At Cheri Speak

Authors Note: This is an interactive post. I hope you will continue reading. It’s not a game as much as an experiment in getting to know one another. You don’t have to do anything or pass it on or anything like that and it’s meant to be fun. 

Ready?

<Please turn your speakers on. You may be directed to adjust your volume occasionally or switch from link to link.  When you see things in purple like this, they are directions for you to participate in one way or another. I hope you’ll enjoy it. I assure you it’s unlike most blog posts. Grab something good for you to drink (I’m having Diet Coke) and come on in for a Sneak Peek at Cheri Speak!>

It’s meant to be fun 😉

Who Are You? <← adjust your speakers as loud as you can and click>

Who-Are-You

Image Source: seemadasani.com

I often wonder what each of you look like, where you are in your home (office, girlfriend’s house…) while reading the things that I write or writing the things that you write. I wonder what’s going on around you. Are there any children at your hip or grumbling hungry husbands asking,

What’s for dinner?”

Is there a TV on in the background, or do you have music playing low on the iPod? What kind of music is on your iPod?

As you can see I am very interested in you.

Be assured I don’t mean this in any stalkerish kind of way. I’m just curious is all. When I look at your blog and picture (if you have one) and read your words or comments my mind creates an image of you. I wonder if I’m ever close? Probably not. Maybe? I don’t know, I think it would be like comparing a book to the movie. Theater of the mind and all.

<Is The Who to finished? Good, turn the volume down to a nice companion level and click here. Let this play until further notice. You are now listening to what I am listening to. Creepy or cool?>

Who Am I?

who-am-i

Image Source: rsaangel.wordpress.com

I also wonder if people wonder about me.

I’m nobody special, no more special than you, but if I sometimes wonder about other people it only makes sense that…

Well, you know where I’m going with this right?

Sometimes people have had interesting perceptions of my life depending on what it is I am doing for a living at any given time. When I was a DJ on a rock station, people thought I was cool and even glamorous. When I was spending a lot of time on politics and activism, people thought I was a rebel and even then some thought I was cool and glamorous. When I owned a media marketing company, people thought I was smart (and cool and glamorous). The “glamorous” part always made me roll my eyes laugh.

Someone once told me that I was,

Dynamic“.

They said I had a,

Wicked chat personality” that comes across in my writing.

Well, we’re chatting aren’t we? Duh!

<I hope you are enjoying the music. If not, you will be. Hang tight. This is the music I listen to when I am writing and since you are visiting me right now, I’d like to share it with you. By the way, I noticed you brought a cup of coffee. Good for you.>

writers-spotlight

Image Source: etftrends.com

Needless to say, I have not had a glamorous life in any way, but it’s funny how a job title (or other label) can define you in the minds of others. Perception is truly left to those that perceive.

It’s interesting when I meet men too. I’m a single gal and when I first meet someone and they find out what I do for a living (at different times in my life) they automatically begin to calculate what that makes me and what it means to them. Most often I assure you they are wrong, but it’s funny nonetheless. It’s also a pain in the ass, which is why I’m still single. Go figure.

I’m just an average person who happens to have had an other than average life.

<Pause the music for a minute, but don’t x-out of it. I want to share with you one of my very favorite things. I hope you don’t mind. It’s almost 10-minutes long, but it’s worth it. I promise! Thank you! I am enjoying having you as my guest today.>

Wasn’t that cool? I love Shel Silverstein!

<I’ll share another of my favorites with you in a little while. For now, please push play again on the music now? Thanks! This station plays all sorts of stuff so I hope you like the current playlist. Can I get you more coffee?>

So What Does a Writer DO All day?

Write. And write and write and write. No seriously. That’s pretty much all I do.

As much as I love writing on my blog, I also write at least four other articles a day for other publications. In addition, as some of you know, I am writing a small business marketing book.  My eyes are rarely off of this screen.

Each day I get up and I write. Faithfully. I have to if I want to make money as a writer so that I can have time to enjoy writing as a writer. I’ve wanted to do this full-time my whole life. Now that I am, I can tell you, it’s real work, but it’s work I love. Bleary eyes and all.

The music you are listening to keeps me light and it helps keep an appropriate counter calmness to the atmosphere of two yapping dogs and neighbors going up and down the stairs. Usually, I have two or three working pieces open at a time. I often lose track of the time of day and can look up and two or three hours have passed.

At the end of the day I feel good because I got to do what I love, and I made a little money. Enough to pay the bills. If that’s all I have, it’s enough for me.

Anyhow, I do hope you come again and sit with me. I enjoyed this and hope you too will share a peek into your writing day with me. As promised…

<Bookmark that radio station you are listening to if you liked it. I hope you did. Anyhow, I promised more Shel Silverstein and I never break my promises. Enjoy this short 4 1/2 minute miracle.>

See you soon I hope!

~ C

<

8 comments on “Sneak Peek At Cheri Speak

  1. Alethea Matthews
    March 14, 2013

    🙂

    Like

  2. snosler
    March 14, 2013

    I write for a living as well … so I have a questions – do your hands ever get cold? Mine are always freezing – I need to buy some writing gloves if they exist … oh, and yes, I always wonder what people look like out there in the blog-o-sphere too!

    Like

    • CheriSpeak
      March 14, 2013

      YES!!! My hands are always cold, especially my right hand. I’m sure we need better circulation in our arms!!
      If you find writing gloves, please send me a link!!

      By the way, I might be quoting your article in one I am working on about cheating spouses.

      Like

  3. jrosenberry1
    March 14, 2013

    My hands get cold after a while too …. hmmm!
    Wish I had a job doing what I like to do … but then … I might not like it anymore!

    Like

  4. cshowers
    March 14, 2013

    Thanks for sharing Cheri. I enjoyed visiting you and getting to know you better!

    Much love to you,
    Cheryl

    Like

  5. Rose Red
    November 9, 2013

    I love this idea, and the music and the stories. The Who song wouldn’t play in the UK but I know the song and it played in my mind 🙂

    Like

Now it's my turn to listen...

QUOTES

CHERI-SPEAK-QUOTES
Protected by Copyscape Online Plagiarism Tool

Sign Up Today!

boot-camps-for-bloggers

You do not need to be a WordPress member to subscribe. Just enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Thank you very much for following! :)

Join 1,640 other followers

Tweet @CheriSpeak

IT’S FREE!

Get the Cheri Speak Badge

cheri-speak-badge
