Cheri Speak

Are you listening?

I Speak In Song Titles

AUTHORS NOTE: Do you speak another language? I do. I speak in “song title”. Nearly every word or phrase in the article below is a song title and each is linked to it’s appropriate YouTube video. Enjoy. :)

singing

Image Source: freestockphotos.biz

Every day’s a new day in this circle of life and everywhere I go I got the music in me even if I’m just dancing with myselfEverything you touch is a song. Each tune and lyric is an imitation of life where you come as you are.

Who knew music could make you feel like makin’ love when you’re so damn hot burning with Saturday night fever only to go running on empty first thing Sunday morning looking for a D.I.V.O.R.C.E.?

Humph, I guess that’s why they call it the blues, summertime or otherwise.

The sweet pain and misery after one bourbon one scotch one beer and that jagged little pill will make you feel like the wreck of the day and sorry seems to be the hardest word, but don’t give up. Turn on the radio and let yourself go instead.

The voice within knows you are desperate, but not serious and music will keep you comfortably numb with a silly little love song while you’re ridin’ the storm out to its bittersweet conclusion.

It’s the pleasure principal silly and that crazy bitch and those Dirty rotten bastards playing mind games can’t take away your song. Don’t stop believing because you are wonderful.

But anyway, till we meet again. It’s time for me to fly!

With much R.E.S.P.E.C.T.,

Cheri

*If you liked this and would like to see more like it please check out (and share) my “Song Title Series” HERE.

Other “Languages” WordPress members speak or otherwise use…

  1. Listen to the Weekly Writing Challenge [MONOLOGUE format] | Beyond Question
  2. The Oral Exam | apprentice, never master
  3. A likkle literary taste a mi Culcha! | lesiesworld
  4. The Queen’s English | Batman To Be
  5. A Problem Named Sherman | Fish Of Gold
  6. Blending in By Lunchtime | Escape from Chaos
  7. Dialectable | theeyelife
  8. Don’t ask for the subway in Mun-tree-all unless you’re hungry | DCMontreal
  9. Weekly writing challenge:A manner of speaking | Taking time, making time
  10. A Vocab Lesson from Brasil | Ms. Brigitte’s Mild Ride
  11. Crikey! Is Australian Slang All It’s Made Out To Be? | Storm In A B-Cup
  12. The “LOL” Problem | Weekly Writing Challenge | The Life of A Thinker
  13. Baby talk: One big boo-boo for mankind | What Would Nadia Do?
  14. u wot m8: English representations in American films | Film Vex
  15. Out And About, eh? – The Temenos Journal
  16. the modulated tongue ~ | Pigments of Life
  17. A Manner of Speaking (DP Challenge) | liveuntil
  18. Just Now | evanescent50two
  19. Just Now | Travellin’ Thru Rambles
  20. A Totally Awesome Conversation Dude! | Talyn Marie
  21. Weekly Writing Challenge: A Manner of Speaking | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  22. Weekly Writing Challenge – The Bad Phone | Momus News
  23. Shukabeela! | marsowords
  24. Sociable | Tvor Travels
  25. A Meatball By Any Other Name (and other humorous British/American language confusions) | Forever Autumn
  26. The “You Don’t Have A Job?” Man | Norine’s Notebook
  27. Bilingual: Fluent in both English and Minnesotan | Minnesota Transplant
  28. Tamchiak, kiasu and kaypo is our dog |
  29. Naija Slangs: Broken Or Pigeon English | Wise Counsel
  30. Project update: Up the duff | justmomentarily
  31. Weekly Writing Challenge–A Diverse Manner of Speaking | Bohemian Opus
  32. At the Rub-a-dub-dub | Apoplectic Apostrophes
  33. DpChallenge: Manner of speaking: He says tom(A)to, I say tom(AR)to | Comfortably Numb
  34. Weekly Writing Challenge: A Manner of Speaking | a little creative
  35. Speak Geek to Me, Shakespeare. | Queen Creative
  36. The Story of The Lance | The Life Nomadik
  37. Se venden chismes | aNadventures
    1. Bless your heart….. | This Typing Makes Me Look Busy….
    2. Can Cannot, Bottle Can – Only in Singapore | What A Girl Loves…
    3. Irish: A Manner of Speaking (Weekly Writing Challenge) | Ireland, MS and me
    4. Dae ye ken whit I am talkin’ aboot? | Sanjuro Tokage’s Blog
    5. I’m a Mormon. Yes I am. | Faking Picture Perfect

23 comments on “I Speak In Song Titles

  1. Julianne Victoria
    May 2, 2013

    So cool! 😉

    Like

    • Cheri Speak
      May 2, 2013

      Thanks Julianne. I started doing these a year or so ago. I’m glad you liked it. 🙂

      Like

  2. Wow, I thought I was the only one. There is always a song coming out of my mouth… my friends think I am a little crazy!
    I loved this and am amazed at how many people talk with songs!
    (and write)

    Like

    • Cheri Speak
      May 2, 2013

      hahahaha nope, I giggle or GOL because I catch myself saying something and it’s a song title or I am in a place or situation and a song title comes to mind. Our mind works in such an interesting way.

      Like

  3. talyn marie
    May 2, 2013

    I usually talk in movie quotes so I had a lot of fun reading this. It made me remember some really good songs.

    Like

    • Cheri Speak
      May 2, 2013

      Oh good, I’m glad to help you find your way to memory lane.

      Like

  4. lboogie81
    May 2, 2013

    I speak in song and MOVIE titles lol

    Like

  5. EagleAye
    May 2, 2013

    This is brilliant. Somebody really knows her music. Great job.

    Like

    • Cheri Speak
      May 2, 2013

      LOL thanks. I am a music nut and worked in radio for more than 20 years.

      Like

  6. nomolost
    May 2, 2013

    Really great post. Although I now have REO Speedwagon stuck in my head, so thanks for tainting my brain for the next week or so!

    Like

  7. Cheri Speak
    May 2, 2013

    Nuttin wrong with a lil REO :p …thanks!!

    Like

  8. Norine Acevedo
    May 2, 2013

    I loved your post. Very clever!

    Like

  9. Leah Astore
    May 2, 2013

    I love this. :]

    Like

  10. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: “Yo Falo Portuñol [and Spanglish!]“ | 3rdculturechildren

  11. Pingback: The Story of The Lance | The Life Nomadik

  12. Pingback: Do 15 New Things in 30 Days | Cheri Speak

  13. Pingback: The Magic of Music | Cheri Speak

Now it's my turn to listen...

