Cheri Speak

Are you listening?

The Life of a Gumshoe

when-i-grow-up

Image Source: dora-jodie.blogspot.com

Remember when you were a kid and everyone asked,

“What do you want to be when you grow up?”

Whatever your answer had been, are you what you always wanted to be?

I know for many, the answer is, “no”. And, for others, maybe you have evolved in such a way that you strive to be different things at different times in your life. I know that is certainly the case for me.

When I Grow Up…

when-i-grow-up

Image Source: thewrittenreference.com

As a child I knew I wanted to be a writer. In fact, I published my first piece – a poem, at the age of seven, but I also grew up wanting to be Quincy (for you young’ins Quincy was my generation’s version of shows like today’s CSI).

I grew up reading True Crime magazines in all of their morbid, wonderful glory. My uncles were avid readers of these magazines so I would sneak them every chance I got and hide them from my mom. Obviously this sort of stuff is not exactly appropriate reading material for a kid, but I was fascinated by the complexity involved in every case. This was my idea of a jigsaw puzzle, one whose pieces I was able to put together.

Then I Grew Up…

Instead of becoming a Medical Examiner, Detective, or involved in some other forensic related position, I got married and had three kids. My ex-husband was adamantly against me going to school to become a detective. He barely tolerated my involvement in martial arts. So, I continued to write while I began working in the media (at one time I was even a DJ on a California rock station). I was very good at what I did and although I filled my time and my bank account, something was missing.

Still Growing…

After I got divorced and my kids had grown into wonderful adults I still couldn’t pursue my visions of Quincy, nor could I put much more effort into writing because I had to care for my terminally ill mother. This literally took up most hours of every day – and night (I love you mom, I wouldn’t change it for the world), and the small media company I had built I had to let go in order to accommodate the circumstances.

now-what

Image Source: nowwhat.tumblr.com

It’s now been two-years since my mom passed away — and without having to worry about feeding three  children, I finally decided it was time to write full-time and find a way to make a living doing it without losing my integrity.

So far, so good.

I may not drive a BMW — or whatever the fancy fad of the day is, but I am happy. I LOVE being a writer and oddly enough I am right now at this very moment in my life able to write and to participate in some of that forensic and crime shit I love so much. Thank you Peter Lance!

Are These Now The Golden Years?

peter-lance-investigative-journalist

Image Source: PeterLance.com

As I posted the other day, Peter Lance is a five-time Emmy award-winning investigative journalist who I was fortunate enough to meet a year-and-a-half ago. Conversations with him always provide me with that rush I used to get reading those old crime magazines because the guy is a walking encyclopedia of knowledge — and I don’t mean just the surface stuff, I mean the good stuff.

Yeh, yeh I know…some of you think I am out of my mind, but it is my mind and we all need to step-out once in a while, right?

So, anyhow, the other day I promised I would be doing my own interview with Peter, and I will be however, I have decided to give you all a treat and Peter has been so kind as to agree.

At least I hope it’s a treat. If nothing else, it will be unique!

I now have in my hands a signed first edition of Peter’s new book, Deal With the Devil — published by William Morrow/Harper Collins.

*You can get it here if you would like to read along with me.

Anyhow, here’s what I am going to do…

peter-lance-deal-with-the-devil-book-cover

Image Source: Peter Lance

I am going to post about the chapters as I move through it. At the end of each I will have Q & A with Peter specifically pertaining to that chapter. Kind of like those old dime store novels being shared on tinny sounding radio stations back in the day (unlike Quincy,THAT was before my time).

I think it is a fun idea and it will allow me to show all of you why I love this stuff so much. In addition, it will allow you to participate by way of questions you might have about Deal With the Devil; the definitive Gregory Scarpa, Sr and Lin DeVecchio story and it’s importance — not just in history’s past, but also very much in history’s presence.

You can read the full “Intro” of the book for free and see what you think.

Would YOU like to play along?

SEE Recent Press on Deal With the Devil

DEAL WITH THE DEVIL BOOK TOUR & MEDIA SCHEDULE – CONSTANTLY BEING UPDATED

KIRKUS REVIEWS lists Top 10 Most Shocking Facts Uncovered in DEAL WITH THE DEVIL

CRIMESPREE MAGAZINE

Salon.com publishes Introduction to new FBI/Mafia exposé DEAL WITH THE DEVIL

U.K. MailOnline finds threads of “The Godfather” in DEAL WITH THE DEVIL

Santa Barbara News-Press on DEAL WITH THE DEVIL

PETERLANCE.COM

See What THESE WordPress Bloggers Wanted To Be When They Grew Up

  1. Daily Prompt: The Road Less Traveled | Chicomallorca’s Blog
  2. Daily Prompt: The Road Less Traveled | Books, Music and Movies : my best friends
  3. Daily Prompt: The Road Less Traveled | George and Nigel
  4. The Road Less Traveled | Geek Ergo Sum
  5. Daily Prompt: The Road Less Traveled « Mama Bear Musings
  6. The day I took a different road | Feel & Rebuild Your Self Confidence
  7. downtownnokomis
  8. The Runaway | The Jittery Goat
  9. Too Good To | clarior e tenebris
  10. Daily Prompt: Other | Postcards from
  11. Fourteen years | The numpty with a camera and a laptop
  12. Crystal ball | Musings of a Suburban Creampuff
  13. Fork in the Road [Daily Prompt: The Road Less Traveled] | unknowinglee
  14. Boat Punk Culture | The Life NomadikThe Life Nomadik
  15. You’ll take the high road and I’ll take the low road… | The Rider
  16. Daily Prompt: The Road Less Traveled | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  17. Meeting a Chatmate | just another outlet
  18. Daily Prompt: The Road Less Traveled | LooknWalk
  19. Less Traveled | Tommia’s Tablet
  20. Otherworldly Bridges |
  21. The Road Less Traveled | bheehappy
  22. Daily Prompt: The Road Less Traveled – Kisses for Sparky | The Daily Dilly Dally
  23. Daily Prompt : The Road Less Traveled | Valley Girl Gone Country
  24. A Marriage Continued | Sorta-Ginger
  25. Daily Prompt: Paths and Choices | SERENDIPITY
  26. The Making of The Beginning | The Nameless One
  27. Roads Not Mistaken | clarior e tenebris
  28. The Moment of Trust | A Sign Of Life
  29. Daily Prompt: The Road Less Traveled | Spiritual Biscuits
  30. The Road Less Traveled | To Pursue Happiness
  31. Braveheart… | Haiku By Ku
  32. Daily Prompt: The Road Less Traveled | writinglikeastoner
  33. The Road Less Traveled | Beats and Pieces
  34. Dancing in the dark – ghosts of the past | Vampire Maman
  35. The Other Love « Getting Rid Of Boredom
  36. Marshall’s Decision (Fiction) | meanderedwanderings
  37. The Road Not Taken | Iam Who Iam
  38. There Was No Alternative:Daily Prompt | BLUE BEAD PUBLICATIONS
  39. Other | The Magic Black Book
  40. Daily Prompt: What might have been… | cinnwriterblog
  41. How I never left home | Rob’s Surf Report
  42. The Dark Road « Overcoming to Becoming
  43. Daily Prompt: The Road Less Traveled | Exploring Utah with MS and Apples
  44. Choosing Geodesy | das Nicht-zuhause-sein
  45. The Road Less Traveled: What’s Traveled is Traveled | Khana’s Web
  46. Daily Prompt: The Road Less Traveled | Under the Monkey Tree
  47. Daily Prompt: The Road Less Traveled | bloobloons
  48. Two Roads Diverge in a Yellowed Wood | djgarcia94
  49. The Friend Request | My Tiny Thoughts
  50. Sweet Home Chicago | Compass & Quill
  51. Choices to make. | ayimas
  52. The Road Less Traveled | Sam’s Online Journal
  53. The Beaten Path | A Day in the Life
  54. Making Lemonade | Life As I Know It
  55. My Parallel Universe | Random, Assorted and Miscellaneous Thoughts
  56. Daily Prompt: The Road Less Traveled | To Breathe is to Write
  57. Daily Prompt: The Road Less Traveled » My Life, My Way, My Words
  58. Daily Prompt: The Road Less Traveled | The corner of my imagination
  59. Infinite | Taking One Day At A Time
  60. Choices to Make, Paths to Take | SOPHIE dans le métro
  61. Daily Prompt: The Road Less Traveled | My Photolanguage
  62. Daily Prompt: The Road Less Traveled | random scribbles

 

6 comments on “The Life of a Gumshoe

  1. Charles Yallowitz
    July 2, 2013

    I wanted to work with animals as a child, but I opted not to when I realized blood would be involved I went author after realizing I had been writing since I was a child. We’re always evolving though, so who knows what the future holds.

    Like

  2. JackieP
    July 2, 2013

    Ohhh I loved those true crime magazines! My mom would read them all the time and like you I would sneak read them. I think I will follow you because it looks like it’s going to get really interesting. 🙂

    Like

    • Cheri Speak
      July 2, 2013

      Thank you very much Jackie. I am hoping to be able to do the first one next week. I look forward to your participation!!!

      Like

  3. Pingback: meeting a chatmate | just another outlet

  4. Pingback: The curse of gravity | Rob's Surf Report

  5. Robert Sayre
    July 10, 2013

    My uncle bought True crime mags all the time he had a stack next to his chair and a couple would end up mia for a week and then I would bring them back and trade for 2 more. Love following these old mags. thanks

    Like

Now it's my turn to listen...

QUOTES

CHERI-SPEAK-QUOTES
LETTERS-IN-SONG-TITLES-BLOG-SERIES
Protected by Copyscape Online Plagiarism Tool

Sign Up Today!

boot-camps-for-bloggers

You do not need to be a WordPress member to subscribe. Just enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Thank you very much for following! :)

Join 1,643 other followers

Tweet @CheriSpeak

IT’S FREE!

Get the Cheri Speak Badge

cheri-speak-badge
