Cheri Speak

Are you listening?

Downsizing, Simplifying and Letting Go

downsizing

Image Source: loymachedo.com

In 2006 I went through a horrible divorce. As my ex and I divvied up what had amounted to our life together I was thinking [and feeling] the loss of my life more than that of any belongings.

I had accumulated a lot of stuff in the 8-years he and I were married, but I didn’t struggle too much cutting the fat. I got what was important; my kids [which were mine to begin with] and my dog AnnieBananie [who after 10-years, sadly, I no longer have]. The rest of it really didn’t matter that much and I opted to leave many things — like dishes and furniture, behind.

A year later however, I found myself in a position of having to downsize further in order to care for my ailing mom. Some things went into storage, while others were sold or donated. A year beyond that I had to further detach and let go when I lost what I had in storage. A year later and I was even lighter of load and so on.

It’s Just Things

its-just-things

Image Source: seuss.wikia.com

At first, it was really hard. Each time it was hard, but as I continued to downsize I began to simplify my life. All of a sudden I had less things to worry about. And that’s just it, they were only things. Sure, there were some things I wish I had not of let go of or lost along the way, but in the end it has actually better enabled me to do what I do.

Write…for a living, and, I can do it from anywhere [providing there’s an internet connection].

Today, everything I own can fit into a single bedroom. When it comes to physical clutter, my life is free of it. I am still working on the mental and emotional clutter, but sometimes junk is subjective.

Here is my favorite “Junk” to share…

How about you? Have you cleared the clutter?

  1. Walk more! | Inside My Glitching Mind
  2. Zenit-8 camera | Inside My Glitching Mind
  3. Never accidentally marry a gay man – Part 5: The Serious One | How to be good at everything
  4. Watching a Robot Confess | Daily Prompt: Clean House | likereadingontrains
  5. Make your lady happy | Agrifun.com
  6. Party Time! | Agrifun.com
  7. Why Do We Keep Stuff? | Spirit Lights The Way
  8. The Junk Drawer | retiredruth – Life in the 50’s and beyond
  9. ••Coddled by Thee•• | mët•aRVhëë•n✪ia
  10. Daily Prompt: Clean House « Mama Bear Musings
  11. Growth Factor | Getting Rid of Junk
  12. “Clutter” Daily Prompt | Finicky Philly
  13. Clean the junk out of your life | Interviews That Matter
  14. All That Junk | Sam’s Online Journal
  15. Daily Prompt: Clean House | Life as a country bumpkin…not a city girl
  16. Daily Prompt: Clean House or Cluttered House ? | littlegirlstory
  17. How To Get Rid Of Junk | The Jittery Goat
  18. The Conundrum | Where’s Your Moral Sieve?
  19. Look what I found hiding in the study! | We Live In A Flat
  20. Daily Prompt: Clean House 29|9 | Family, Photos, Food & Craft
  21. Daily Prompt: Clean House « Vicariously Poetic
  22. Clutter, Junk & Treasures | Tony’s Texts
  23. Getting Rid of Masher | scribbleglitch
  24. S. Thomas Summers | Daily Prompt: Clean House (Autumn Arrives)
  25. Duncan the Sushi Roll #15 | Neva Samaki
  26. Daily Prompt: Junk | Chronicles of a Public Transit User
  27. Not a true story. | JC Bride ~
  28. Daily Prompt – Clean House | Purplesus’ Blog
  29. Daily Prompt: Clean House | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  30. Daily Prompt: Clean House | reyoflight
  31. Accumulating Junk | Flowers and Breezes
  32. Resolving Junk | Sogna Grandezza
  33. Space Junk | Just Visiting This Planet
  34. “Clean House” | Relax
  35. Daily Prompt: Clean House | bloobloons
  36. A junkie’s mind. | Crossroads
  37. Desk Jockey junk… | notsinglebutnothappy
  38. Life moves on | crookedeyebrows
  39. Daily Prompt: Clean House | BulgingButtons
  40. Put on hold. | Hunted2Hunter
  41. DAILY PROMPT: CLEAN HOUSE? I TRIED. I FAILED. | SERENDIPITY
  42. Out of sight, out of mind | Grandma Drives Me Crazy
  43. Junk | On the Trail of a Gypsy
  44. The Secret Room | Barefoot on Rainy Days
  45. Cleaning up the “Junk”…..or atleast trying! | Life Confusions
  46. Intangible pieces of junk | Madhura’s Musings
  47. DP: Junk | As I See It
  48. Clean House | The Nameless One

10 comments on “Downsizing, Simplifying and Letting Go

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Clean House | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: What rubbish! | A mom's blog

  3. nrhatch
    September 29, 2013

    Great post! You’ve come a long way. Simplifying pays dividends. A great example of “less is more.”

    Like

    • Cheri
      September 29, 2013

      Thanks. Yes, it has been quite the journey for sure!

      Like

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Clean House | My Atheist Blog

  5. Pingback: Resolving Junk | Sogna Grandezza

  6. Pingback: How much clutter is too much clutter? | 3rdculturechildren

  7. 1EarthUnited
    September 29, 2013

    Very smart Cheri, start with the physical and whittle away to the essentials. Thanks for revealing this profound truth: the less clutter you possess on every level, the lighter your being. Perhaps that what spirituality is all about, knowing yourself experientially midst living thru heavy existence (physical 3D realm on a construct called Earth). Enjoy letting go and be freee…..

    Like

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Junk | Chronicles of a Public Transit User

  9. Pingback: 46 Things I Didn’t Expect By 46 | Cheri Speak

Now it's my turn to listen...

QUOTES

CHERI-SPEAK-QUOTES
LETTERS-IN-SONG-TITLES-BLOG-SERIES
Protected by Copyscape Online Plagiarism Tool

Sign Up Today!

boot-camps-for-bloggers

You do not need to be a WordPress member to subscribe. Just enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Thank you very much for following! :)

Join 1,644 other followers

Tweet @CheriSpeak

IT’S FREE!

Get the Cheri Speak Badge

cheri-speak-badge
