Cheri Speak

Are you listening?

The Magic of Music

The first sounds ever heard, were heard by whom, and was it music to their ears?

Pickin’ & Grinnin’

hee-haw-band

Hee Haw Image Source: timvp.com

I have had a love affair with music for as long as I can remember. I grew up in a band family so, music was a near daily part of my life. The stereotypical image of the family band pickin’ and playin’ on the front porch isn’t too far off.

Seseme Goddard Street was the name of the Band and it mostly consisted of my mom’s brothers, i.e. my uncles and one of their wives.

Watching and listening to them “jam” practice was a lot of fun. I loved the starts and stops, the collaboration and seeing how a song takes shape. I loved even more, the treasured Sunday nights when I was allowed to actually see them play live at a club. In Colorado, Sundays where family days in many establishments that served alcohol. As a child, this was the only time I could attend their shows.

I loved it. They would dress me up and bring me on stage to sing Puff the Magic Dragon, Where Have All the Flowers Gone and more. I even had little white go-go boots. I should mention that I was 4, 5 and 6 at that time.

Mood Music

mood-music

Image Source: apartmenttherapy.com

Music, it seems, has been the one constant in my life; always there when I need it and boy do I need it.

Music can sooth a soul as easily as it can torment it and depending on mood and muse a song selection can take a listener to the far reaches of nearly any emotion. I am sure I am not the only one who has specific music they listen to at specific times; music that caters to whatever gut wrenching or joy drunk whim our psyche is dancing with.

As much as music can lift us up, it can also bring us right back down again and in some cases it can put us under.

Music isn’t just a sound, it’s a feeling and I feel it deeply.

7 comments on “The Magic of Music

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Eye of the Beholder | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Eye of the Beholder | My Atheist Blog

  3. Pingback: What if I could explain beauty? | Okay, what if ?

  4. Pingback: What it feels like to hear a beautiful piece of music or see a stunning piece of art | Processing the life

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Eye of The Beholder – Poem / Poetry – “Acoustiscal Tonic” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  6. Pingback: ACCOUSTICAL TONIC | hastywords

Now it's my turn to listen...

QUOTES

CHERI-SPEAK-QUOTES
LETTERS-IN-SONG-TITLES-BLOG-SERIES
Protected by Copyscape Online Plagiarism Tool

Sign Up Today!

boot-camps-for-bloggers

You do not need to be a WordPress member to subscribe. Just enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Thank you very much for following! :)

Join 1,636 other followers

Tweet @CheriSpeak

IT’S FREE!

Get the Cheri Speak Badge

cheri-speak-badge
