Cheri Speak

Are you listening?

The Last Supper

last-supper-cooking

Image Source: Wikipedia

What is your favorite food? Do you have an absolute favorite?

I Don’t…

If you’re like me, you have several favorites. so it would be hard to pin down just one.

Being single, one of the initial get-to-know-you questions when meeting a new guy is of course, “what’s your favorite food?

Gotchya!

I always feel like this is a trick question. It could be. I mean, maybe the dude is asking in order to see if I eat like a pig or if I will be ordering the most expensive thing on the menu or a slew of other things. Or, maybe he’s just trying to break the ice.

Either way, it is a question that makes me feel on the spot.

Is there A Right Or Wrong Answer?

What I like today, or right this minute, may not be what I would say I like later today or tomorrow or even 5-minutes from now.

There is no accounting for taste buds and they have a mind of their own, which could be why I occasionally crave a cheeseburger at 8 am. Besides, I’m a woman, isn’t it my prerogative to change my mind?

So, What’s On My Plate?

If I was preparing what I knew would be my “Last Supper”…ever…I would set-up a buffet of sorts with ALL of my favorite foods…and I’d start at breakfast time so that I could enjoy at least a little of all of them!

I’d lay out a spread to rival any $100 Sunday brunch, piling the table with things like…steak, turkey, skin-on mashed potatoes, gravy, granny’s bread with real butter, green beans, chicken & dumplings, Lebanese meat & rice, Cocoa Pebbles and Honey Bunches of Oats w/almonds cereals, milk and Ovaltine, biscuits & gravy, breakfast burritos with spicy red and green salsa, guacamole and chips, bean and cheese burritos, carne asada, General Tzao’s chicken and sticky rice, friend dough, granny’s bean soupGerman Chocolate cake, butter pecan and mint chocolate chip ice creams, mimosas, salsa chicken, baked brie, granny’s creamy noodles…oh and I can’t forget the fudge, and…oh my, I could go on and on…

Dagnabbit, I’m hungry now. What are you cooking us today?

feed-me

P.S. Once again I was a “psychic” and did this writing prompt a few days ago and boy did I do it…LOL…if you missed it, you should go check it out.

DAY #11 OF NaBloPoMoBlogHer,  yeah write and NanoPoblano … two posts in a single day…just trucking along :p

18 comments on “The Last Supper

  1. Charles Yallowitz
    November 11, 2013

    Pizza. I think it’s the perfect food. Has grains, fruit/veggie, dairy, and meat if you use the right toppings. 🙂

    Like

    • Cheri
      November 11, 2013

      ahhh yes, please add pizza to my table…pepperoni and breakfast bacon pizza 🙂

      Like

      • Charles Yallowitz
        November 11, 2013

        That sounds yummy. Beats turning a pancake into a fake pizza.

        Like

    • cynkingfeeling
      November 11, 2013

      I have to agree. It’s so versatile. You can change up the toppings, the kind of sauce, the crust. Mmm. Now I want pizza.

      Like

      • Charles Yallowitz
        November 11, 2013

        Me too. All I could find were chicken burgers, so I think I need to go shopping tomorrow.

        Like

      • Cheri
        November 11, 2013

        Pick me up the fixins’ for some pizza!

        Like

    • Cheri
      November 12, 2013

      tee hee, I am heating up leftover pizza right now :p

      Like

      • Charles Yallowitz
        November 12, 2013

        Had some for lunch, but it was some low calorie kind my wife bought for me. Tasty, but about as filling as water.

        Like

      • Cheri
        November 12, 2013

        LOL

        Like

  2. thesisterslice
    November 11, 2013

    my favorite food….everything! Well, beets and I have a love hate relationship, but with counseling maybe we can work things out.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Food for Survival : Charity during Durga Puja | Processing the life

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Food for the Soul (and the Stomach) | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. geanieroake
    November 11, 2013

    Just found a rrecipe for chocolate cake with beets. (High in fiber.) It tasted good too – surprise!

    Like

    • Cheri
      November 11, 2013

      LOL, ok…this I gotta see! Fork it over :p

      Like

  6. Pingback: Apple Strudel | Life is great

  7. Pingback: Food, glorious, food… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  8. Pingback: Food! | Words 'n Pics

Now it's my turn to listen...

Information

This entry was posted on November 11, 2013 by in Community & Culture, Daily Prompt, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

QUOTES

CHERI-SPEAK-QUOTES
LETTERS-IN-SONG-TITLES-BLOG-SERIES
Protected by Copyscape Online Plagiarism Tool

Sign Up Today!

boot-camps-for-bloggers

You do not need to be a WordPress member to subscribe. Just enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Thank you very much for following! :)

Join 1,643 other followers

Tweet @CheriSpeak

IT’S FREE!

Get the Cheri Speak Badge

cheri-speak-badge
