Cheri Speak

Are you listening?

SUNDAY CONFESSIONS: Double Standards

music-i-love-you-hate

When I was a young mommy I would often rail over certain words or images that seemed suggestive in the cartoons and other children’s shows on TV. I was equally protective when it came to toys and music.

And then, I guess my kids grew up. I hope that’s the reason because otherwise I have no excuse and you may not forgive me my trespasses.

Forgive Me Readers, For I Have Sinned

Music is a passion in my life. I love all kinds of music for different reasons and risqué lyrics or raunchy videos attached to a song just doesn’t affect my moralistic high horse as they once did.

In fact, some of the more controversial songs over the past decade are some of my very favorite songs, but I don’t like them for their controversy; I like them for the great songs they are.

I like them because no matter where I am or what I am doing, if I hear any one of these, I cannot NOT move. I just can’t.

From the very first, beat my shoulders start bouncing and my hips all of a sudden have a mind of their own.

This is music I FEEL; not emotionally, not controversially, but physically and it makes me feel alive.

Since it’s Sunday — the day of rest so, I know you don’t want me to work too hard, so I’ll enter the confessional with my short list…

Slave For You

OK, let me just say I am NO fan of Miss Brittney Spears.

Really, I’m not.

In most cases I can’t stand her, but, I cannot lie, I love this song.

Dirty

Who can talk about Britt without bringing up Xtina? No one and if they do? Shame on them.

When it comes to actual talent and real chops Christina Aguilera is 100x the singer Spears could ever hope to be. Whether you love her or hate her [or love to hate her], I myself love her talent and this song can make any woman feel she too can get, “dirty”.

Blurred Lines

Probably one of the most current and biggest musical controversies is about Robin Thicke‘s ‘lil diddy. The song, not the over padded pomp in his pants.

How can anyone sit still when this song comes on???

I Am Woman, Hear Me Roar

I won’t deny that this sort of music isn’t exactly appropriate for kids. I also agree music like this should not be marketed and glorified to kids, but I am not a kid and I am sick of the “demeaning to women” flack songs like these get.

Not one of these songs makes me feel objectified or any other negative thing as a woman, and if they do you, then I challenge you to question yourself why.

The songs are not about you are they? Then just turn the dial and get over it.

Better yet, crank it up and let your body come alive while you harness what the good Lord gave ya.

…Amen

Do you forgive me?

Do you have your own Sunday confession?

DAY #17 OF NaBloPoMoBlogHer, and NanoPoblano …

Get the CheriSpeak Badge

11 comments on “SUNDAY CONFESSIONS: Double Standards

  1. anmol(alias HA)
    November 17, 2013

    I love music as well but I do prefer the artists and bands from 60’s and 70’s… a true golden era for music in my eyes. 🙂
    And yes, some controversial songs tend to be quite good as well. 🙂

    Like

  2. theworldoutsidethewindow
    November 17, 2013

    A really interesting post. It is funny how our perception of things change as we get older. Just to let you know I have nominated you for a Sunshine Award..

    Like

    • Cheri
      November 17, 2013

      Thank you. I’m not so sure my perception has changed so much as who I am has changed. If that makes sense?

      Sunshine award?

      Like

      • theworldoutsidethewindow
        November 17, 2013

        That does make total sense. The award is a wordpress blog thing. I have just posted about it. If you have time to do it great but no pressure if you can’t. I really enjoy your blog so it was one of the first that sprung to mind when doing my part of the award process..

        Like

      • Cheri
        November 17, 2013

        Found it and thank you very much 🙂

        Like

      • theworldoutsidethewindow
        November 18, 2013

        Very welcome x

        Like

  3. Life Breath Present
    November 17, 2013

    I keep watching what seems like my music preferences change, until I realize it isn’t me so much as music standards of what I like…I am careful about what our little one hears, at least for now. And, I do like Aguilera 🙂

    Like

    • Cheri
      November 17, 2013

      all my little ones are grown and gone, which for me is probably why I am more comfortable in what i like. I may not like all of the incarnations of Aguilera, but I always love her voice.

      Like

  4. Pingback: Sunday Confessions | Cheri Speak

  5. Pingback: SUNDAY CONFESSIONS: American Idol, The Voice, and X Factor | Cheri Speak

  6. Pingback: SUNDAY CONFESSIONS: I Went Streakin’ | Cheri Speak

Now it's my turn to listen...

QUOTES

CHERI-SPEAK-QUOTES
LETTERS-IN-SONG-TITLES-BLOG-SERIES
Protected by Copyscape Online Plagiarism Tool

Sign Up Today!

boot-camps-for-bloggers

You do not need to be a WordPress member to subscribe. Just enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Thank you very much for following! :)

Join 1,643 other followers

Tweet @CheriSpeak

IT’S FREE!

Get the Cheri Speak Badge

cheri-speak-badge
