Cheri Speak

Are you listening?

My How Times Have Changed

marijuana-legalization-colorado

How would you feel talking to a cop about weed?

What if it was a member of the Supreme Court or an Attorney General?

That pretty much sums up my day yesterday. The shorter description is simply, “surreal”.

Pinch Me

In case you didn’t know, I am a full-time freelance writer. Blogging is my hobby, but I actually write for a living; both with a byline and as a ghostwriter.

If you read my blog frequently then you probably know I also write a couple of monthly newspaper columns related to cannabis, aka pot, legalization.

In the state of Colorado it will be legal for anyone 21-and-over to purchase [and smoke or cook with] weed beginning January 1st, 2014. As the protocols are being set and the National foundation laid, many eyes are glued to the process, including mine.

Yesterday, while doing research and background for an upcoming piece, I found I really needed to just pick-up the phone and make a few calls to some power players in  the state if I wanted to get the answers I was looking for in time for my deadline [the upcoming holiday is squeezing my access to people].

So, I did. I called.

One Ringy Dingy Dingbat

Now I should mention, I contact “important” people all of the time and I interview people all of the time; I am rarely [if ever] intimidated by whoever it is I am trying to reach, but today the mere act of calling people who in a different place in time would want to toss me in a jail cell was a bit unnerving.

It’s one thing to talk about pot with people you know or even a random stranger, but I felt like I was getting ready to rat myself out and it was making me a little buggy.

As I dialed the Colorado Attorney General‘s office I realized I was holding my breath. Once the recording started, I slowly exhaled at the beep. I was relieved to have gotten an answering machine versus a human being. I left a message.

The next call was to the Colorado Supreme Court. Just like during the previous call, I caught myself holding my breath while it rang and then a woman answered. At first I thought it was an automated message until she paused and I realized she was waiting for me to respond.

I exhaled and took a another deep and steadying breath, announced who I was and why I was calling and then asked to be directed to the appropriate party I was trying to reach. When she connected me, I was again relieved to hear the recording come on asking me to leave my name and number.

Breath Cheri, Breath

My heart was racing. I really had myself worked-up. Anxiety was threatening to get the best of me. My heart was pounding so hard it had to be visible if there’d been anyone around to see it.

This reaction was quite irrational and very unlike me. WTF??? I mean really!

I set the phone down and stretched a little; then I went to the kitchen and grabbed a bottle of water. I needed to change my perspective.

My phone rang.

It startled the shit out of me! I was deep in thought and the sound was shrill because the house was otherwise dead silent.

I Got It!!!!

I dropped my bottle of water and spun around towards the couch where my phone was.

I was in socks on a linoleum floor…think about it, I nearly face-planted after I performed some odd version of trying to run through imaginary molasses, then my foot connected with the dropped water bottle and I careened forward at the same time my body tipped backwards.

I’m not quite sure how I didn’t land on my ass, but there was no time to reflect on that, the phone was still ringing and the challenge was to get to it and get as close to being outside as possible, all before my own voice-mail picked-up. You see, my cell signal is dicey where I am right now and I cannot connect a call when I am indoors.

Anyhow, I did it. I grabbed the phone and made it out of the back door and without knowing in advance which entity was returning my call I said,

Hello, this is Cheri” as I usually do when answering an unknown number…

It was the Attorney General’s office…

Already???

That was fast! I don’t think I have ever had an Official return my call so quickly. I don’t think a full five-minutes had even passed at that point, but here I was suddenly faced with the call that had had my heart racing ridiculously and I suddenly went completely blank.

Maybe I should have “practiced” what I was going to say?

I mean I had my list of questions, but to actually say them out loud to someone of authority possibly should have crossed my mind.

Or not.

Either way, it was too late to practice so, I took yet another deep breath and charged right in. I don’t think the woman had even noticed my pause or hesitation.

What was I so afraid of? I mean who cares what their personal thoughts and beliefs may be on the subject of pot? Who cares if they want to personally judge me?

The fact of the matter is, their voters passed a law and they have no choice, but to implement the process of legalization.

Right?

Right!

So why was my tummy having a trampoline party that was threatening to make me puke?

Just the Facts Please

In my head I was saying,

I didn’t do anything wrong…I’m not doing anything wrong…I can’t get in trouble for this…” over and over.

And, I was right.

I hadn’t done anything wrong and I wasn’t doing anything wrong. I couldn’t get in trouble for asking questions.

Duh, I’m a journalist, this is an important part of American history and I’m just doing my job.

As it turns out, the Communications Director was awesome. She was very nice and accommodating. By time the Supreme Court office called me back an hour later, I was fully calmed down and didn’t even bat an eye to say things like “smoke a doobie” and “Ganja“.

Every Moral Has a Story and Vice Versa

The moral of this story?

Firstly, never spin around in socks on a linoleum floor..

…and secondly, I really need to practice what I preach and take my own advice a little more often.

Having been in media for two-decades taught me to be fearless [that and growing up with 5 brothers]. I learned a long time ago that most people are so afraid of getting a, “no” that they neglect to ask the question to begin with.

The problem with that is, if you don’t ask, you have an even less chance of getting a, “yes”.

When was the last time you went careening across the room? What caused it?

DAY #20 Of NaBloPoMoBlogHer, and NanoPoblano …

Grab a CheriSpeak Badge if You’re so Inclined…

22 comments on “My How Times Have Changed

  1. Pingback: Perspective | Kansa Muse

  2. Pingback: Perspective | A mom's blog

  3. Pingback: Just be happy | Processing the life

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Perspective | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Kim P. Miller (@klpmiller)
    November 20, 2013

    Great post! I have often felt that way approaching our elected officials about arthritis issues and legislation that will affect Juvenile arthritis- but you are absolutely right. The answer will always be no, if you don’t bother to even ask.

    Like

    • Cheri
      November 20, 2013

      LOL thanks. Yeh I swear i have talked to and met with some of the biggest names in the country and NEVER get stupid feeling like I did over this yesterday. I FELT like I was breaking the law.Thanks for reading. 🙂

      Like

  6. Pingback: Avatar – A fictional truth | Historiefortelling

  7. Pingback: A different perspective? | Words 'n Pics

  8. Pingback: Lessons For Life, Don’t Let Them Drive You Crazy | The Jittery Goat

  9. SHAUNA
    November 20, 2013

    Sort of off topic – but I interviewed the Attorney General once – I’ll never forget how nervous I was … literally paced for two hours before I made the call – and I don;t know (hell maybe he was high) but he was just as easy to talk to as anyone else 🙂

    Like

    • Cheri
      November 20, 2013

      LOL Shauna, totally on topic…it doesn’t matter what we call them for it’s still like we’ve been bad girls or something LOL :p

      Like

  10. Pingback: MY ARMS | hastywords

  11. Calamity Rae
    November 20, 2013

    Okay, now I’m super officially glad that I’ve met you. =)

    Like

    • Cheri
      November 20, 2013

      Tee hee see? I’m one of the cool kids LOL

      Like

  12. Pingback: My idea is that perspective is a tool . . . | Rob's Surf Report

  13. mermaidcamp
    November 21, 2013

    How fun!!! Things are going to change like an avalanche now. You do need to report history as it happens..it is happening faster than anyone can imagine…blog on, sistah.

    Like

  14. Pingback: It drives me crazy… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  15. Pingback: Land of Confusion- perspectives of people and regret | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

  16. Pingback: New Column, New Feature Articles and a New Endeavor | Cheri Speak

  17. Cheri
    January 21, 2014

    Reblogged this on .

    Like

  18. Pingback: 46 Things I Didn’t Expect By 46 | Cheri Speak

Now it's my turn to listen...

QUOTES

CHERI-SPEAK-QUOTES
LETTERS-IN-SONG-TITLES-BLOG-SERIES
Protected by Copyscape Online Plagiarism Tool

Sign Up Today!

boot-camps-for-bloggers

You do not need to be a WordPress member to subscribe. Just enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Thank you very much for following! :)

Join 1,644 other followers

Tweet @CheriSpeak

IT’S FREE!

Get the Cheri Speak Badge

cheri-speak-badge
