Cheri Speak

Are you listening?

SUNDAY CONFESSIONS: My Step-father is a Racist

hes-a-racist-chauvinist

My step-father is a racist and a chauvinist and it drives me insane.

He is almost 74 and there is no changing this man. I have tried for 25 years.

It makes me sick.

Trying to have a conversation with him is impossible. I have only two choices…

1. Let him offensively ramble on and not say anything…

2. Call him on it each and every time and have a major fight…

I’ve done both many times and neither works.

Sigh!

It is a generational thing…

…I understand that however, ignorance has no generation and his willful refusal to evolve is disgusting.

Sunday Confessions is a weekly blog series on Cheri Speak.

Every Sunday I post a random personal confession. “Personal” does not necessarily mean “private”,it just means the confession is unique to me and my life.

I would love to turn this into a blog hop, so grab a badge, tag your post “SundayConfessions”, use hashtag #SundayConfessions and jump in this week. All topics are open. The only rules are to be sure to link back here as well as to a few other participants and get your confession posts in before midnight PST every Sunday.

Here are a couple I have done so you can see how easy…

9 comments on “SUNDAY CONFESSIONS: My Step-father is a Racist

  1. Valerie Jordan Fenn
    December 8, 2013

    I gotcha your back…
    i caught on…so next time..i gotcha back but it wont make a bit of a difference to anything.

    Like

  2. phaerygurl
    December 8, 2013

    Unfortunately, due to the chauvinistic part, you’re already at a disadvantage. I also know someone in their 60s, who’s actually a bigot (doesn’t feel the need to be confined to just race; religion, sexual orientation, ethnicity, etc. are all fair game). This person also pulls the whole “I have friends who are [insert qualifier]” to justify their bias. Oui.

    Like

    • Cheri
      December 8, 2013

      bigot is probably the more appropriate word i should have used.

      Like

      • phaerygurl
        December 12, 2013

        Whenever I describe the person I mentioned, I make sure to say bigot. However, I did understand what you said.

        Like

    • Cheri
      December 8, 2013

      sadly he so backwards and proud of it…

      Like

      • phaerygurl
        December 12, 2013

        A lot of times those people consider themselves still from the “good old days” when things were the way they liked them. Never mind that nobody else did. “Newfangled hippie” is a phrase that comes to mind.

        Like

  3. I think many families have racists, bigots, whatever you want to call them. One Thanksgiving I told everyone as they entered that there would be no talk of politics or any topic that could be deemed controversial…..we ate a lot and sat and stared at each other a bit, played some board games, tried to keep everyone occupied so nothing came up to set anyone off. It was like walking on eggshells and was a role I didnt want to play, since I had already cleaned and cooked…..
    Wish I had an answer for this problem. I don’t think we are alone.

    Like

  4. Pingback: SUNDAY CONFESSIONS: I Went Streakin’ | Cheri Speak

Now it's my turn to listen...

Information

This entry was posted on December 8, 2013 by in Character, Chauvinism, Community & Culture, Ethics, Family, Ignorance, Life, Racism, Society and tagged , , , , , , .

QUOTES

CHERI-SPEAK-QUOTES
LETTERS-IN-SONG-TITLES-BLOG-SERIES
Protected by Copyscape Online Plagiarism Tool

Sign Up Today!

boot-camps-for-bloggers

You do not need to be a WordPress member to subscribe. Just enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Thank you very much for following! :)

Join 1,644 other followers

Tweet @CheriSpeak

IT’S FREE!

Get the Cheri Speak Badge

cheri-speak-badge
