Cheri Speak

Are you listening?

Where’s My Damn Cigar?

I had to giggle when I read today’s WordPress Daily Prompt:

“Tell us about a time things came this close to working out… but didn’t. What happened next? Would you like the chance to try again, or are you happy with how things eventually worked out?”

Isn’t “close” subjective?

One man or woman’s sense of accomplishment is another man or woman’s sense of failure. Especially when it comes to things like L-O-V-E.

Is having the love of your life in your life, but not of your life, “close” or “no cigar”? Really, you tell me, because in my book having the love of my life in any positive capacity is a boon. I may not have the ideal, but I have something few people genuinely experience and that, is good enough for me.

better-to-have-loved-close-no-cigar

When one has truly loved…then they have never lost.

When we love; when we open our hearts and lives to another fully, without reservation and although we may lose a part of ourselves, what we gain is an understanding of ourselves [and life] that we would otherwise never know.

So, to answer the prompt, “Yes”, I have come “close” to something important and meaningful “working out”, but the reality is, whatever result an effort affords, it is the effort itself that creates growth and “working out” is just as subjective as “close” 😉

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Stillness Speaks | Vintage Photography
  2. A stroll through London Bridge | AS I PLEASE
  3. Zeke Found His Style (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  4. Close | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  5. But No Cigar | Geek Ergo Sum
  6. Daily Prompt: But No Cigar | Under the Monkey Tree
  7. DP Daily Prompt: But No Cigar | Sabethville
  8. Interrupted | La Gatita Oscura
  9. Sayang* | aportraitingrayscale
  10. A Close Call on the Way to Yellowstone | Exploratorius | Photo Hack & Curious Wanderer
  11. Daily Prompt: But No Cigar | Awl and Scribe
  12. Sometimes A Loss is a Win | THE OVERCOMING
  13. Daily Promt: Things happen for a reason. The Duchess of Malfi was worth the change. | Susan Jane Bradfield
  14. ‘Heneghan’ hope… | alienorajt
  15. Cannibal | Shadows Of The Divine
  16. Nearly there | A mom’s blog
  17. But No Cigar | The Nameless One
  18. The Close | L5GN
  19. Close Protection at La Bonne Mère | Travel with Intent
  20. Daily Prompt: But No Cigar | Thoughts of an INFP
  21. The Journey 1 Seahenge | andyarticles
  22. How To Fold A Tote Bag (Project)
  23. But No Cigar |
  24. Why did nobody take up the Mantle? | A Teacher’s Blog
  25. On the lighter side of close | Unlocking The Inner Creative
  26. Close, But No Cigar | aMUSEing THINGS
  27. Daily Prompt: But No Cigar | Basically Beyond Basic
  28. No Banana! | Saying Everything
  29. Daily Prompt: But No Cigar | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  30. The Best Laid Plans and All That Rot | My Author-itis
  31. Just a Man and his Cigar | field of thorns
  32. Daily Prompt: But No Cigar | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  33. We’re Just A Chapter. | Chasing The Bubble
  34. A House for Me | Flowers and Breezes
  35. Positive Energy | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  36. “Quiniela” | Life is great
  37. Sometimes a Cigar is just a Cigar | I really just pretend to know stuff
  38. Give my heart a break! | Le Journal D’Une Cheval Noire
  39. Photo Editing Challenge: Week 11- Trees and/or Tree Trunks | Hope* the happy hugger
  40. Processing the life
  41. No Cigar or Applause | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  42. No Rose Garden/Daily Prompt “No Cigar” | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  43. Closed | Dreams to Reality !
  44. Daily Prompt: Close and then Closer | Daily Prompt & Blogging Progress
  45. Close but No . . . Well, You Know! | meanderedwanderings
  46. Life plays its notes ………… | Rahul Kumar
  47. Dear Fellow WordPresser | Chunky Brain
  48. Daily Prompt: But No Cigar |

19 comments on “Where’s My Damn Cigar?

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: But No Cigar | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer

  2. Pingback: Yet So Far. | Brianne Writes

  3. Twindaddy
    January 16, 2014

    I disagree. I have loved. And I have lost.

    Like

    • Cheri
      January 16, 2014

      I have loved and lost, but I am richer for having loved the one I lost and “lost” is subjective, my love still lives in my heart 😉

      Like

      • Twindaddy
        January 16, 2014

        I haven’t decided if I’m richer for having loved who I loved. At least not in the respect you are referring to. I still have feelings for those who I once loved in some shape or form, they have a place in my heart, but damn. Losing those loves is the worst kinda hurt.

        Like

      • Cheri
        January 16, 2014

        I know and live the pain, but pain makes us feel and if we stop feeling…what’s left?

        Like

      • Twindaddy
        January 16, 2014

        No more pain….

        Like

      • Cheri
        January 16, 2014

        hugs

        Like

      • Twindaddy
        January 16, 2014

        (Hugs)

        Like

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: But No Cigar | The Wandering Poet

  5. diannegray
    January 16, 2014

    Very nice post for the prompt, Cheri. Sometimes I think close enough is good enough 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: But No Cigar | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: But No Cigar | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  8. Pingback: Close but no cigar | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  9. Pingback: of dreams and nightmares « Anawnimiss

  10. Pingback: I don’t even know why I’m publishing this | Rob's Surf Report

  11. Hugo F. Melo
    September 14, 2014

    One man or woman’s sense of accomplishment is another man or woman’s sense of failure. Especially when it comes to things like L-O-V-E
    🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Hugo F. Melo
    September 17, 2014

    Thanks, A very useful information.

    Like

Now it's my turn to listen...

QUOTES

CHERI-SPEAK-QUOTES
Protected by Copyscape Online Plagiarism Tool

Sign Up Today!

boot-camps-for-bloggers

You do not need to be a WordPress member to subscribe. Just enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Thank you very much for following! :)

Join 1,631 other followers

Tweet @CheriSpeak

IT’S FREE!

Get the Cheri Speak Badge

cheri-speak-badge
