Cheri Speak

Are you listening?

Boat Rides, Birdies and Boys … Oh My!

A funny thing happened on the way to my deck … and that’s not just a kitschy opening line, it happens to be true and I have pictures and video to prove it.

See?

And here’s the video; it’s quite entertaining and I could not stop laughing …

And, the result of this ridiculousness?

korey-rowe-photography-dylan-avery-light-tricks-oregon

PHOTO CREDIT: Korey Rowe/Dylan Avery

Well, there ya have it!

Last week I had the great pleasure of having Dylan Avery and Korey Rowe as house guests. In case you don’t know who they are, Dylan wrote, directed and edited all of the Loose Change (LC) films and Korey produced them (although they have done other noteworthy things, my general readership would know them best for LC).

Anyhow, even though we’ve all been fighting the same fight for a decade or more, we never really knew one another on any personal level until a couple of years ago when I was working on a project that led me to seek Dylan out. Since then, he and I have become genuine friends and through him, Korey has entered my life.

While Dylan was hoping to see an Otter, Korey was digging on the Stellers Jay’s peanut party …

Dylan has been working on a new documentary addressing America’s epidemic of excessive force and police brutality. The film isn’t a cop-bashing rant, but instead is a raw and honest look at this growing problem and the systemic obstacles that created and continue to enable it. With the help of another of my close friends [former LAPD cop, Alex Salazar], Dylan’s doc shares an extraordinary burden of truth that rests on all of our shoulders.

The documentary is called, Black and Blue. Here is the current trailer for the film …

As many of you know, I spent two weeks in jail last year. During that time I myself experienced excessive force from law enforcement and was injured. Dylan interviewed me for the film several months ago and was here with Korey last week to do a final interview to kind of recap where I am now and what has changed.

Obviously, a lot has changed in my life, but the true highlight was sharing it with them while they were here.

We had a really good time and it was a treat to play hostess. I haven’t gotten to do that in a very long time and because I now live in such a magical place, all I really had to do was position them on the deck or dock facing the river then feed and water them liberally. I may have over fed them, but no one was complaining about a lack of beverages and the great American smoke-out was a big hit, pun intended of course.

While the guys were here we took our first boat ride up river thanks to Michael who stayed up all night to take his boater’s exam.

I have written about the animal life here and the utter beauty of my surroundings … here are some pictures of my surroundings themselves.

Along the way of their road trip, Korey decided he too was making a new documentary and here is the working trailer for that, some of which was filmed in my home with Michael and on the Siletz River here in Lincoln City, Oregon.

I have a lot of respect for both Dylan and Korey. Each unique, each worthy.

If you have a great story to tell, in-line with what Korey Rowe is doing, he leaves details at the end of the video above telling you how to get involved. If any of my readers care about the rising incidences of police brutality and excessive force — and I know many of you do, please consider making a financial contribution (of any denomination) to the making of “Black and Blue” via Dylan Avery’s PayPal, iamdylanavery@yahoo.com and be sure to hit-up and share the Facebook page HERE.

2 comments on “Boat Rides, Birdies and Boys … Oh My!

  1. alexmsalazar
    June 29, 2015

    Man what that guy Dylan Avery smoking Cheri lol.. Looks like you guys had a beautiful time! Miss you!

    Like

    • Cheri
      June 29, 2015

      Wouldn’t you like to know? :p It is Oregon, yo! lolol, yes we did and wish you woulda been here too. Any time you want, you let me know. Mi casa su casa amigo 😉

      Like

Now it's my turn to listen...

QUOTES

CHERI-SPEAK-QUOTES
Protected by Copyscape Online Plagiarism Tool

Sign Up Today!

boot-camps-for-bloggers

You do not need to be a WordPress member to subscribe. Just enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Thank you very much for following! :)

Join 1,653 other followers

Tweet @CheriSpeak

IT’S FREE!

Get the Cheri Speak Badge

cheri-speak-badge
