Cheri Speak

Are you listening?

Creating My Home Studio

Today all of my new audio equipment is supposed to arrive. I feel like a kid at Christmas even though UPS’s delivery will probably follow “Murphy’s Law” and I won’t hear the magical knock on the door until the end of the day, but it doesn’t matter, today’s the day either way and I am secretly here clapping like a five-year-old.

Getting this equipment has been a really touch and go process. I had to do a lot of research to be sure I was not only getting the right things I need in order to make Back to Bartering (BtB) and Challenging the Rhetoric (CTR) into what I am determined to make them. I also had to be sure that the quality was going to be excellent. After all, BtB is a lifestyle system that includes online video and audio courses that I will be selling. They need to be professional in all ways. And, CTR is no chopped-liver. It was always meant to be taken to the next level and now that I am no longer anchored down by another’s passing phase I can notch-it-up and make it soar.

All this sounds great, right? Well, it is, but I procrastinated getting the actual studio space ready and now I have to do something about that!.

I have a small narrow room (more of a closet if you ask me) that I meant to use as an office and instead have allowed to become a storage room. Now, I need to convert it into both a sound and video studio. Today I have to make a clean sweep of it or I don’t even deserve to open the boxes everything will be arriving in!

Since moving to Oregon I have made exactly one new friend (LOL) that lives relatively close to me (thank God for that small miracle). It’s very rural here and she is still a good 30-mins away so “close” is subjective. Anyhow, she will be coming over today to help me create the studio environment I need (she is also going to begin working for me as a personal assistant) which will be an amazing help.

I may have to build-out a small desk so that I can take advantage of the length of the space versus what I have already. Using the length will work much better for camera angles and allow me to both sit and stand. I will have a lot of cords in a small space so I will have to figure out a way to contain them where they will not be in my way if i am moving around. I also bought several fabric back-drops for the video aspect of what I am doing. I want to mount them on the wall so all I have to do is slide one over when I want to use it. I have a back-drop for each entity as well as another that works for anything.

When I move all the current crap out of the “studio” I have no idea where I am going to put it. I may be trading one mess for another, but hey, a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do!

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Sweeping Motions.”

Now it's my turn to listen...

QUOTES

CHERI-SPEAK-QUOTES
LETTERS-IN-SONG-TITLES-BLOG-SERIES
Protected by Copyscape Online Plagiarism Tool

Sign Up Today!

boot-camps-for-bloggers

You do not need to be a WordPress member to subscribe. Just enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Thank you very much for following! :)

Join 1,643 other followers

Tweet @CheriSpeak

IT’S FREE!

Get the Cheri Speak Badge

cheri-speak-badge
