Cheri Speak

Are you listening?

What is Youth?

fountain-of-youth-what-is-youth

Graphic Stock license w/alterations by CheriSpeak

This morning a writing prompt on WordPress caused me to take pause. The question posed was,

If there were a real Fountain of Youth, would you drink the water?”

Naturally I, like most people, initially read it in the external sense of “forever [physically] young“. And then — maybe, because of all the latest medical weirdness to do with my face (that I literally just found out about and wrote about yesterday), this prompt suddenly struck me differently.

Ironically, it also made me feel a little differently about my own face and health because, what is “youth”, really? Does a dictionary define it or do we?

Youth can mean so many things: a youthful appearance, a body healthy as a youngster’s, a youthful spirit and attitude …

You get the picture.

If there were a magic serum to retain “youth”, would it be a universal type of youth that covers everything; and what of a woman my age (47)? Would it act retroactively and take me back to a more youthful me? Or, would it freeze time for me where it is now; how I look now; how I think now; how I feel now; who I am now?

Magic doesn’t come in a bottle, it comes in a moment and all of those moments are what makes you, you and me, me. Every good, bad and ugly thing about ourselves is a testament of who we are and where we have been. A documentation of our life.

If you erase the evidence you’ll be left with nothing to show for it.

*

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Forever Young.”

Now it's my turn to listen...

Information

This entry was posted on August 30, 2015 by in Age, Aging, Behavior, Life, Youth and tagged , , , , , .

QUOTES

CHERI-SPEAK-QUOTES
Protected by Copyscape Online Plagiarism Tool

Sign Up Today!

boot-camps-for-bloggers

You do not need to be a WordPress member to subscribe. Just enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Thank you very much for following! :)

Join 1,640 other followers

Tweet @CheriSpeak

IT’S FREE!

Get the Cheri Speak Badge

cheri-speak-badge
