Cheri Speak

Are you listening?

Our Father Who Art in Heaven, Farris be His Name R.I.P. Poppy I Love You

cheri and dadBy CHERI ROBERTS

Our father had a way with words

he’d craft his thoughts with care.

His stories told, both new and old,

were meant for us to share.

Rhyming words and riddles too

a scavenger of prose.

A master of such simple words

not every body knows.

“Wars are fought for minds that rot”

was one thing that he’d said;

another was some things he’d thought

when mom was almost dead.

The time that’s passed was time well spent

adjusting while we grew.

No one is us, nor we are them

is one thing that he knew.

Six kids he loved with all his heart,

each one his special “Boss”,

are reeling now as this day starts

and we realize our loss.

R.I.P. Poppy I Love You – Farris E. Williams April 13, 1945 – February 16, 2016

Great song below…”Living Years”.

There are only so many years in a life and none are promised …

“I wasn’t there that morning when my Father passed away. I didn’t get to tell him
all the things I had to say …” ~ Mike & The Mechanics – The Living Years

 

8 comments on “Our Father Who Art in Heaven, Farris be His Name R.I.P. Poppy I Love You

  1. cshowers
    February 16, 2016

    I’m so sorry for your loss Cheri. I pray that the God of all comfort will hold you and your family in His loving arms, and bring peace to your souls. Please know that you are loved by many, as I’m sure your dad was, and reflect on the good memories you have of him. In this way, you will both honor your father, and find comfort in knowing that you will always carry a part of him in your heart.

    God bless you,
    Cheryl

    Liked by 1 person

  2. silentlyheardonce
    February 16, 2016

    A beautiful tribute and my deepest sympathy. .

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Corner of Confessions
    February 16, 2016

    I’m deeply sorry for your loss. My condolences to you and your family.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. John Bursill
    February 17, 2016

    Hi Cheri, I’m very sad for your loss..

    By the words you’ve written, I take it as given he was man busy livin till the end; and your all a missin something now he’s gone 😦

    Love John and family

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cheri
      February 17, 2016

      Thank you, John. Yes. He was very loved by all of us. He was a good man. ❤

      Like

Now it's my turn to listen...

Information

This entry was posted on February 16, 2016 by in Children, Death, Music, Parenting, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , .

QUOTES

CHERI-SPEAK-QUOTES
Protected by Copyscape Online Plagiarism Tool

Sign Up Today!

boot-camps-for-bloggers

You do not need to be a WordPress member to subscribe. Just enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Thank you very much for following! :)

Join 1,631 other followers

Tweet @CheriSpeak

IT’S FREE!

Get the Cheri Speak Badge

cheri-speak-badge
