Cheri Speak

Are you listening?

60-Second Snuggle

I found my Prinze Charming! Well maybe not mine since we’ve never met and I’m probably his Mother’s age, but he did inadvertently make me remember something with his article No Strings Attached Snuggling. Being a single woman, I think snuggling is the thing I miss the most about being in a relationship.

snugglingWhen I was married I insisted on (and got) what I called the “60-second snuggle”. This was the most important part of every single day because it is the very thing that started every day. It may not have kept our divorce at bay, but it did teach us both that stopping to snuggle up for that single minute each morning — before anything else, had the power to change the course of our entire day. Sure we were laying there thinking about how bad we had to pee, but we also allowed our hearts to slow from the shock of the alarm while appreciating the feel, smell, and warmth of the one beside us. I’d challenge that it was quite possibly the realest part of any day we shared in all the years we were together.

I don’t think coupled up people understand and appreciate — or appreciate enough, the power of human touch because in one way or another it is an existing part of their daily lives. A casual touch on the hand, a brush of a shoulder, a kiss good-bye, a hug…snuggle cat

When you are single sayings like  “few and far between” don’t quite cut it. Human touch is damn near non-existent for most single people. No wonder we all have cats or dogs!

snuggling 2I hug and hold my children all of the time. They are adults now so it isn’t quite the same as when they were little and wanted nothing more than to be on my lap or in my bed. I hug friends and shake the hands of new acquaintances, but the absence of wrapping one body around another is deeply felt whether the night is cold or a naked on top of the sheets kind of night.

8 comments on “60-Second Snuggle

  1. Prinze Charming
    December 9, 2012

    This was an extremely motivating post. Thank you so much for opening up about your past. I feel honored to inadvertently touch you in an emotional way. It is also a great opportunity to emphasize on the importance of physical touch. In a technological world of advancement, electronic communication improves while the physical embrace of two bodies gradually declines. In the near future, who will understand what a simple butterfly kiss or Eskimo kiss is all about? We shall see, but for now I shall preserve those thoughts. Thank you again. Take care, love.

    Like

    • C. R.
      December 9, 2012

      Thank you very much for the “like” and the compliment. Also, thank you for the smiles this evening. I look forward to watching you evolve and will be proud to say “I knew him” one day 😉

      Like

  2. That is past me. Arguments over money and scams have left me unable to have any relationship. Such is the life of a wounded warrior.

    Like

    • C. R.
      December 10, 2012

      Are you married? What do you mean? Everyone needs physical touch.

      Like

  3. Corner of Confessions
    December 11, 2012

    What an important sentiment many take for granted. I’m a sappy soul and I come from a family who aren’t all emotional… we don’t hug and kiss and say we love each other. So through friends and my relationship i hug and kiss them every chance i get and even here on cyber land i send out ‘virtual hugs’ whenever i can. When my fiancee was sick with his cancer it was those little intimate moments i missed the most. Not being able to cuddle cause he couldn’t be in a position without pain. Couldn’t always kiss cause of his treatment and the risk of me transferring germs to him. But the big one for me was not being able to share a walk with him, hold his hand and walk down the street. Alot of couples take that for granted. Hell , even i did. I looked back at all the times before his cancer when we walked outside … texting on my phone… walking at different paces… not holding hands. Now every time we go outside i find his hand and take extra care to slow the pace and enjoy the moment.

    Like

    • C. R.
      December 11, 2012

      Outstanding! Yes taking these little things that are in reality so much bigger to the individual and to the relations, is not something anyone should do. I miss human touch so much!

      Like

  4. brotherxaos
    December 12, 2012

    Reblogged this on Nefarious Intentions and commented:
    In many ways, I find snuggling to be the most fulfilling aspect of intimacy. This article is great, it shows that there are people out there that enjoy and appreciate a good snuggle, and that it doesn’t have to be the pre-cursor (or post-cursor) to sexual activity. I know when I was single and lonely, the thought of having someone to snuggle at night was forefront in my mind, much stronger than the desire for sex. Apparently I was not alone in this desire.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Untouched | Cheri Speak

Now it's my turn to listen...

Information

This entry was posted on December 9, 2012 by in Character, Cheri Speak Blog, Erotica, Family, Kids and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
