Cheri Speak

Are you listening?

I Win, I Win, I Win!!!

OK, I didn’t. At least not yet, but I will! I’m not sure what though <insert grin here>.

game-on

Image Source: cityschools.com

I can be quite competitive at times and oddly enough not competitive at other times. In fact, I can be super competitive at something one time and care less about the same thing another time. It’s more based on my mood of the moment however, I did grow-up in an environment of extreme competition so the bug is in me.

I am the oldest of six kids. I am also the only girl. It was interesting growing-up with only boys, and so many of them. On a side note, I am positive I understand guys more so than the average woman because of this however, it doesn’t always play in my favor.

Gotta Win

musical-chairs-poor-sport

Image Source: cheezburger.com

A few things that would generally make me competitive are board games like Scrabble or Sorry or even a game of cards (I like both Rummy and Gin Rummy as well as Spades). I find if I am somewhere around good friends or family I can be more competitive in a fun and playful manner.

I also like some sports and can be a fierce competitor, racquetball particularly. When I was young it was running and swimming and playing football with my brothers and their friends.

I never really enter contests. I mean I have,but it’s rare. There was a time I used to enter a lot of radio contests. That’s what started my career actually, but I don’t do contests anymore generally.

Beat This!

competition

Image Source: thinkingspaceconsultancy.com

Competition is an interesting thing. It isn’t just about games and sports, or the lottery either. People compete at all sorts of stuff, sometimes subliminally. Sometimes unconsciously. The desire or drive to compete seems to be part of our genetic make-up.

You know the person who always has to one-up you in conversation or have the last word? Yup, that’s competition too.

How about when you are looking for a parking place, getting in line at the check-out, or even vying for an appointment at your favorite salon? Competition.

Getting “likes”, “follows”, “re-tweets’ is competition as well.

A lot of why we care about how we look is competitive in nature, especially if it’s relation to how we want someone else to see us and who else is around.

Competition is everywhere. Do we care? Should we care?

How much should we compete (for anything)?

Are you a competitive person? What are you competitive at and what makes you competitive?

9 comments on “I Win, I Win, I Win!!!

  1. julierobinsonwriter
    March 24, 2013

    Competition is an interesting concept. It’s a great example–as you illustrated–of bringing out the best and worst in each of us. I’m not really sure where I get my competitive spirit, but the piece I wrote tries to shed light on where I think I get my edge. Thanks for the pingback.

    Like

  2. Panty Parade
    March 24, 2013

    Competition is an interesting concept. It’s a great example–as you illustrated–of bringing out the best and worst in each of us. I’m not really sure where I get my competitive spirit, but the piece I wrote tries to shed light on where I think I get my edge. Thanks for the pingback.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Competition | Joe's Musings

  4. diannegray
    March 24, 2013

    This is a great post for the prompt, Cheri. My nemesis is Scrabble – I absolutely love it (and winning) 😀

    Like

  5. artofstumbling
    March 24, 2013

    Yes. I am embarrassingly competitive… though have learned to calm it in recent years lol. Thank God. Think it comes from being top of my year, you get used to it. Also, my mother was a PE teacher lol… so all the sports too.

    Like

  6. CheriSpeak
    April 2, 2013

    “top of my year”???? I am not sure what that means lol!!

    Like

  7. Pingback: The First Time I Participated in the WordPress Daily Prompt | Cheri Speak

Now it's my turn to listen...

QUOTES

CHERI-SPEAK-QUOTES
LETTERS-IN-SONG-TITLES-BLOG-SERIES
Protected by Copyscape Online Plagiarism Tool

Sign Up Today!

boot-camps-for-bloggers

You do not need to be a WordPress member to subscribe. Just enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Thank you very much for following! :)

Join 1,636 other followers

Tweet @CheriSpeak

IT’S FREE!

Get the Cheri Speak Badge

cheri-speak-badge
